Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Collections Development Policy -- Mount Allison University Libraries

Collection Development Policy - Goals

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT GOALS

Primary collection goal:

The primary collection goal of the Mount Allison University Library is to meet the scholarly needs of our students both by building and maintaining on-site collections and also by providing access to and delivery of material from external resources.  The highest priority is given to materials and services which totally or significantly support the scholarly requirements of students in the completion of their course work within the context of the curriculum of the University.

 

The Library has two secondary collection goals:

  • to provide access to external resources required by members of faculty in support of teaching and individual research and for academic staff engaged in institutional research.
  • to acquire Library materials of a general nature in subject areas not emphasized in the curriculum, but which are frequently used or are of long-term value to the University community.

TABLE OF CONTENTS