Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Collections Development Policy -- Mount Allison University Libraries

Collections Development Policy - Libraries

THE MOUNT ALLISON UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Ralph Pickard Bell Library

The Ralph Pickard Bell Library is the main Library at Mount Allison University, housing most collections and services.  Library holdings in all formats represent approximately 450,000 titles in all subject areas.

Alfred Whitehead Memorial Music Library

The Whitehead Library is located in the Marjorie Young Bell Conservatory of Music and houses the collections in all formats which form the support for the major, minor and degree programmes in music.

Chemistry Library

A branch Library located in the Barclay Building, which supplies some of the reference and information needs of students in Chemistry.  The University Library provides funding for the material housed in this branch library.

 

The Collection

The Library collection is comprised of the materials required to meet the scholarly needs of the academic community.  This includes the resources held on-site (books, journals, maps, videos, etc.) and provision for access to resources held elsewhere (ILLO, document delivery, remote databases, etc.).

 

Purpose of the Libraries

The major purpose of the Mount Allison Libraries is consistent with that of any academic library:  to acquire, organize and make available recorded knowledge.  Through collecting, providing access to holdings here and elsewhere and guiding patrons in the use of its resources, the Library plays a central role in linking members of the University community to the major ideas of civilization, and of promoting their intellectual, social and cultural development.

TABLE OF CONTENTS