SUBJECT AREA: A AND Z - GENERAL WORKS, BIBLIOGRAPHY AND BOOK ARTS
Purpose: This area is made up of:
1. The A Classification which are general works, such as encyclopedias, yearbooks, directories, handbooks, and
indexes for journals in multidisciplinary subjects.
2. The Z Classification which are bibliographies on all subjects, material on the book industry, librarianship and
information resources.
Materials are acquired to support other areas of the classification across the entire curriculum; to provide further access to other material in the collections and to provide the basis for the information needs of the community as reflected in the work of the Libraries' information services.
Existing Collection Strength: Much of the material classed in A is held in the Reference Collection and is at the Selective (3) level. Fewer bibliographies are classed in Z; more are published electronically and fall naturally to the specific discipline. The section which deals with the book arts, history of printing, etc. are collected at the Basic (1) level, while librarianship and information resources materials are collected at the Representative (2) level.
Current Collecting Intensity: The collection level of the A (General) part of the classification is Selective (3), though indexes, directories and encyclopedias are increasingly being published with electronic access.
The current collection intensity level of the parts of the Z (Bibliography) classification correspond to those of the subject areas to which they provide access, but fewer printed bibliographies are being purchased as electronic access to subject areas is now common. The other parts of Z are collected at the same levels as the existing collection strength.
Languages Collected: English predominates.
Formats Collected: Monographs, serials, electronic databases.
Access to Journal Articles: Many bibliographical and indexing tools are produced in electronic format, and access is acquired where possible. The shift from paper to electronic access is on-going in this area; electronic databases provide improved access to bibliographical information. Accessible general bibliographic indexes are considered multidisciplinary and acquired through electronic databases funding.
Date: May 2001, revised June 2003
Selector Responsible: Peter Higham
SUBJECT AREA: B-BD, BH-BJ - PHILOSOPHY AND ETHICS
Purpose: To support the work of students in the Philosophy program in particular, and generally the work of students in the Humanities, and to a lesser extent student work in the Social Sciences. The interdisciplinary relationships are with History, Religion, Literature and several of the Social Science Subjects.
Existing Collection Strength: This is a mature collection, with subject areas such as Logic, Metaphysics and Esthetics represented at the Selective level (3), and Ethics at the Representative level (2).
Current Collecting Intensity: As above, but with increasing emphasis on Ethics, especially Biomedical and Environmental Ethics, Eastern Philosophy, and Women Philosophers and issues.
Geographic Focus: Worldwide, but with concentration on the European and North American traditions.
Chronological Focus: All periods.
Languages: Predominantly English.
Formats Collected: Books, serials, some videos.
Access to Journal Articles: The main index for articles in this field is the Philosopher's Index Other sources include Humanities Index, CARL Uncover, MLA International Bibliography and ProQuest.
Date: May 1996 (Revised March 2001)
Selector Responsible: Jeff Lilburn
SUBJECT AREA: BF - PSYCHOLOGY
Purpose: To support the work of students in the psychology programme. Psycholinguistics is classified in P, Neuroscience in QP, Neurophysiology in QH and Psychiatry in R. There are interdisciplinary relationships in Cognitive Science and Women's Studies.
Existing Collection Strength: Most of the subject area is collected at the Selective (3) level.
Current Collecting Intensity: As above.
Geographic Focus: Predominantly North American and British.
Chronological Periods: Current material is stressed.
Languages Collected: Primarily English.
Formats Collected: Book material is necessary, but there is heavier emphasis on journal titles. Video's are also collected.
Access to Journal Articles: THE index is PsycINFO (electronic version of Psychological Abstracts). A number of other electronic indexes are also useful to students in psychology.
Date: May 2001
Selector Responsible: Ruth Miller
SUBJECT AREA: BL-BX - RELIGION AND THEOLOGY
Purpose: To support the work of students in the Religious Studies program, and generally the work of students in the Humanities, and to a lesser extent student work in the Social Science subjects. The interdisciplinary relationships are with History, Literature, Philosophy, and Sociology.
Existing Collection Strength: This is a mature collection, with particular strengths in the Christian religion which is at the Selective (3) level, while Eastern Religions, Judaism, and practical theology are at the Representative (2) level, and the Far East at the Basic (1) level.
Current Collecting Intensity: As above, but increasing the Far Eastern collection to the Representative (2) level.
Geographic Focus: Worldwide, but with increasing emphasis on the religions of the Far East.
Chronological Focus: All time periods collected.
Languages: Predominantly English.
Formats Collected: Books and serial publications are of almost equal importance, with an increasing interest in video.
Access to Journal Articles: The major index is the ATLA Religion Database. Others include Alt-Press Watch, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Humanities Index, Ingenta, Project Muse and ProQuest.
Date: May 1996 (Revised May 2003)
Selector Responsible: Jeff Lilburn
SUBJECT AREA: C-D - HISTORY AND CULTURE (EXCEPT NORTH AND SOUTH AMERICA)
Purpose: Material in this subject area supports work particularly in history, as well as all other humanities subjects, several of the social science subjects and the history of science and technology.
Existing Collection Strength:
(3) Selective for Western Europe
(2) Representative for Eastern Europe
(2) Representative for Asia
(1) Basic for Africa
(1) Basic for Australia
Current Collecting Intensity: As above, but with increasing emphasis on women's history and social history.
Chronological Focus: All time periods collected.
Geographical Focus: Worldwide, with emphasis on Europe.
Languages Collected: Predominantly English.
Formats Collected: Titles are collected in all formats, with the heaviest emphasis on books. Increasing interest in titles in video format.
Access to Journal Articles:
Indexing:
Titles purchased 2000-2001: 471 (materials)
Serial subscriptions 2000-2001: 75 (serials)
Date: May 2001
Selector Responsible: Margaret Fancy
SUBJECT AREA: E-F - THE HISTORY AND CULTURE OF THE AMERICAS
Purpose: Material in this subject area supports work in most humanities subjects and many of the social science subjects, as well as the history of science and technology. History, politics, general culture and all of the material on aboriginal peoples of the Americas are the subjects upon which this part of the classification concentrates.
Existing Collection Strength:
North America: Canada - (4) Advanced level (This area is supported by the W.P. Bell Collection of Acadiana, the Dorothy and Edgar Davidson Collection of Canadiana, the Canadian Government Documents Collection.)
United States - (3) Selective level
Central America - (1) Basic level
South America - (1) Basic level
North American Native Peoples: Representative level (2), but approaching the Advanced (4) level for Canadian Native Peoples.
Current Collecting Intensity: Increasing emphasis on women's history, American cultural and material history.
Chronological Focus: All periods are collected.
Geographical Focus: While all areas are collected there is heaviest focus on Canada.
Languages Collected: Titles are purchased in English, French and Spanish.
Formats Collected: All formats are collected, with emphasis on books, serials and video (in that order). It is important as well to keep abreast of the immense amount of material available on the Internet for subjects of United States and Canadian interest. A substantial collection supporting Canadian topics is the material provided by the Canadian Institute of Historical Microreproduction, approximately 50,000 titles about Canada or printed in Canada before 1900, available on microfiche, accessed through the OPAC.
Access to Journal Articles:
Titles purchased 2000-2001: 561 (materials)
Serial subscriptions 2000-2001: 62 (serials)
Date: May 2001
Selector Responsible: Margaret Fancy
SUBJECT AREA: G-GF - GEOGRAPHY & ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES
Purpose: The material in this area includes geography, cartography, human ecology, oceanography and environmental sciences*. It supports the work of students of environmental studies, environmental science, geography, as well as the social sciences such as economics, politics and international relations.
Existing Collection Strength: Generally it is at the Selective level (3) for geography and human ecology; Representative (2) for oceanography and environmental science.
Current Collecting Intensity: As above, reflecting greater use of journal articles in the sciences.
Geographic Focus: North America primarily, but worldwide coverage attempted to reflect changes in the curriculum.
Chronological Focus: Generally current, except for some of the cultural geography material.
Languages Collected: Predominately English.
Formats Collected: Books predominate, with some supporting video. Government publications, Census, geospatial data, and other statistical material are important. These and other Internet sources are linked to from the Government Information web page and the Geography, Environmental Studies, and Environmental Sciences subject guides.
Access to Journal Articles: The Library does not subscribe to a specific journal database for geography, although Environment Complete and some multidisciplinary databases, in particular Science Direct, and ProQuest databases for the Canadian content, are useful for geography and environmental studies, and other science article databases include content for the environmental sciences.
* Much of the material for these subjects also fall in other parts of the classification such as T, S, K, H's, Q's, C-D, and E-F.
Date: May 2001; Revised Dec. 2013.
Selector Responsible: Anita Cannon
SUBJECT AREA: GN-GV - ANTHROPOLOGY, FOLKLORE, CUSTOMS, RECREATION
Purpose: Supports the work of students in anthropology as well as several humanities and social sciences fields. "Customs" includes social aspects of housing/dwellings, dress, holidays/festivals, etc.
Existing Collection Strength:
GN - Anthropology:
Selective (3) - This is a solid collection. Materials on specific peoples and races are classified in D-F.
GR - Folklore:
Advanced (4) - This collection is also supported by an endowment fund (Mary Mellish). Folk literature is classified in P, folk music in M.
GT - "Customs":
Areas of this miscellanea are at the Selective (2) level, costume for example. Others are Basic (1). Specific country customs fall in D-F.
GV - Recreation:
Basic (1)
Current Collecting Intensity: As above with the exception of Folklore (GR). The current collecting level for Folklore is Selective (2) with strength in journal titles and weakness in monographs. Collecting should be at the Representative level (3).
Geographic Focus: Worldwide for Anthropology and Folklore, North America and Western Europe for Customs and North America for Recreation.
Chronological Focus: All periods.
Languages Collected: Primarily English.
Formats Collected: Books and journals play almost equal roles in Anthropology (GN). Folklore (GR) also collects both books and journals, books only for Customs (GT) and Recreation (GV). A/V materials are important e.g. videos in anthropology and folklore.
Access to Journal Articles: There is a free web index, Anthropological Index Online, to articles in Anthropology. Many of the multidisciplinary electronic indexes cover the field of anthropology. A printed index, International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology, is useful for very comprehensive coverage.
Date: May 2001
Selector Responsible: Ruth Miller
SUBJECT AREA: H-HJ - GENERAL SOCIAL SCIENCES, ECONOMICS, COMMERCE, FINANCE
Purpose: Supports the work of students in Economics and Commerce, most other social science disciplines, in particular Politics and International relations, Sociology, Environmental Studies, Geography, and many courses in History.
Existing Collection Strength:
H - Social Science (General):
Selective (3)
HA - Statistics:
Basic (1) except Canada which is at level 4. Access to current Canadian government statistics through the DLI, and to historical statistics through the DSP collection, is the reason for level 4.
HB - Economic Theory. Demography:
Economic Theory - Selective (3)
Demography - Basic (1) except for Canada (4), where government information plays a major role.
HC - Economic History:
Representative (2) except material on Canadian economic history, which is Selective (3).
HD - Economic Conditions:
Production, HD 1-88 - Representative (2)
Land Use, HD 101-1395 - Representative (2)
Agriculture, HD 1400-1741 - Basic (1)
Industry, HD 2300-4799 - Representative (2)
Labor, HD 4800-8999 - Representative (2)
Special Industries and Trades, HD 9000-9999 - Representative (2)
NOTE: Material on Canadian aspects of the above, except Agriculture, is collected at the Selective (3) level.
HE - Transportation and Communication:
Representative (2)
HF - Commerce (covers all aspects of business):
Materials on Canada at the Selective (3) level. All others at the Basic (1) level.
HG - Finance:
Materials concerning Canada at the Selective (3) level. All others at Basic (1).
HJ - Public Finance:
Materials concerning Canadian finance at Selective (3). All others at Basic (1).
Current Collecting Intensity: As above, but with increasing emphasis on globalization, sustainable development, and the world economy.
Geographic Focus: Historically, the collection has a strong Canadian orientation with American and/or British material obtained when Canadian was not available or for theoretical texts. Work is still needed to broaden the geographic scope of the collection to support efforts to internationalize the curriculum.
Chronological Focus: Primarily current; some historical.
Languages Collected: English predominates. Works in other languages are normally not acquired.
Formats Collected: Books, journals and online sources primarily. Statistical material and publications of IGOs, NGOs, think tanks and institutes from the government documents collection are very important. Selected Internet sources are available through the library catalogue, the Commerce and Economics subject guides and the Government Information & Statistics web page.
Access to Journal Articles: ABI/INFORM Global and Business Source Elite are the prime business databases. CBCA Business and CBCA Reference are useful for Canadian business information. LexisNexis Academic provides access to business and other international news sources. The Library does not subscribe to a specific article database in economics. The multidisciplinary databases ProQuest, Science Direct, Sage, and others, provide access to journal articles for economics and business topics.
Date: May 2001, Revised 2005, December 2013.
Selector Responsible: Anita Cannon
SUBJECT AREA: HM-HX - SOCIOLOGY, COMMUNITIES, SOCIAL PATHOLOGY, SOCIALISM
Purpose: Supports the work of students in sociology and psychology as well as most other social science disciplines and some humanities fields.
Existing Collection Strength:
HM - Sociology General:
Selective (3)
HN - Social History and Conditions, Social Problems, Social Reform:
Canada - Selective (3)
United States and Great Britain - Representative (2)
Other Countries - Basic (1)
HQ - Family, Marriage, Women (a large miscellany):
Generally at the Selective (3) level. Scholarly material only - not popular How-to manuals.
HS - Societies; Secret, Benevolent, etc.:
Basic (1)
HT - Communities; Classes; Races:
Urban & rural communities - Selective (3), HT 1-485
Classes - Selective (2)
Races - Selective (2); generally material by country falls in D-F.
HV - Social Pathology; Social and Public Welfare; Criminology:
Criminology (HV 6000-9999) is Selective (2) except for Canada which is Representative (3).
HX - Socialism; Communism; Anarchism:
Representative (2)
Current Collecting Intensity: As above.
Geographic Focus: North American & Western Europe primarily.
Chronological Focus: All periods with emphasis on current.
Languages Collected: English primarily.
Formats Collected: Journals and books are of equal importance. A/V plays a lesser role.
Access to Journal Articles: The major index in sociology is Sociological Abstracts (paper). The International Bibliography of Sociology (paper) is useful for comprehensive coverage. Several electronic multidisciplinary indexes cover sociology and these are used by the students in preference to the printed indexes.
Date: May 2001
Selector responsible: Ruth Miller
SUBJECT AREA: J - POLITICAL SCIENCE
Purpose:
To support the work of students in the political science program. In addition, generally support the work of students in the social sciences and humanities.
It should be noted that the discipline of political science has strong interdisciplinary relationships with philosophy, women's studies, history and Canadian studies. Thus as a consequence of this, political science material frequently falls outside the "J" classification.
Existing Collection Strength:
J - General Legislative and Executive papers:
Canada and in particular the Maritime Provinces - Advanced (4) (because of government documents)
United States and Great Britain - Selective (3)
Europe - Representative (2)
Other Countries - Basic (1)
JA - General Political Science:
Selective (3)
JC - Political Theory:
Selective (3)
JF - Political Institutions and Administration - General:
Selective (3)
JK - Political Institutions and Administrations - U.S.:
Selective (3)
JL - Political Institutions and Administrations - North & South America except U.S.:
Canada - Advanced (4)
NAFTA - Selective (3)
South America - Representative (2)
Other Countries - Basic (1)
JN - Political Institutions and Administrations - Europe:
European Union - Selective (3)
United Kingdom, France and Germany - Selective (3)
Rest of Europe - Representative (2) / Basic (1)
JQ - Political Institutions and Administrations - Asia, Oceana:
Japan - Representative (2)
The rest - Basic (1)
JS - Local Government and Municipal government:
Basic (1) (except for the Bell Collection's histories of Maritime municipalities prior to WWII, which is Advanced (4))
JV - Colonies, Colonization, Emigration and Immigration:
Canada - Selective (3)
U.S., Western Europe - Representative (2)
JX - International Law:
Basic (1) - except for Foreign relations of the U.S. and Canada which is at the Selective (3) level.
JZ - International Relations:
Selective (3)
Current Collecting Intensity:
As above but with increasing emphasis on feminist political theory, women in politics, globalization and nongovernmental organizations.
Geographic Focus:
Predominantly North America and Western Europe. Secondary focus on Japan, Latin America and Eastern Europe.
Chronological Focus: All periods.
Languages Collected: Primarily English.
Formats Collected:
Primarily books and journals in print. Occasional purchase of video recordings. The Internet is very useful for political science sources. Relevant web sites are noted on the Library's political science subject web page http://www.mta.ca/library/polisci.htm
Access to Journal Articles:
The useful indexes by subdiscipline are:
Political theory:
• Philosophers Index
Political systems
Canadian government and politics:
• Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)
• Canadian Periodical Index (print).
US government and politics:
• ProQuest
• Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
European Union:
• Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
International relations:
• Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS)
• ProQuest
International Bibliography of Political Science (print).
This is a useful index for political science literature. However, the fact that it is in print and is slow to publish has meant that it has fallen out of favour with students and faculty. It is occasionally used for more advanced research in the field. Also utilized as a selection tool by the librarian.
To a lesser extent, general indexes and indexes from other disciplines also contain information relevant to political science. Of particular use are Social Sciences Index, America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts.
Date: May 1996 (Revised July 2001)
Selector Responsible: Emma Cross
SUJBECT AREA: K - LAW
Purpose: To support the work of students and faculty in many disciplines. Several courses in the curriculum include aspects of the law (e.g. in Canadian Studies, Commerce, Economics, Geography, Environmental Studies, History, Political Science, Sociology, Classics, Women's and Gender Studies). Materials covering legal aspects in all subject areas generally fall in the K classification.
Existing Collection Strength: Basic (1)
Current Collecting Intensity: Basic (1)
Geographic Focus: Primarily Canada; some international.
Chronological Focus: Primarily current; some historical.
Languages Collected: English.
Formats Collected: Primarily books. Selected key Internet sites are linked to from some subject guides (e.g. Economics) and from the Government Information page.
Access to Journal Articles: Lexis/Nexis provides access to several Canadian and other law journals. Articles on the legal aspects of specific subjects can also be found in some multidisciplinary and subject-specific journal databases.
Date: May 2001; Revised Oct. 2013
Selector Responsible: Anita Cannon
SUBJECT AREA: L - EDUCATION
Purpose: The last Bachelor of Education degrees were conferred in May 1997. The Education programme has not existed at the University since that time. Students in Music Education make some use of this collection although most of the methods course material falls in "M" (and are located in the Music Library). Several courses in Canadian Studies, Psychology, and Sociology use education materials. Material on higher education is used by the faculty and administration.
Existing Collection Strength: L - Representative (2), LA, LB, LC - Selective (3) and LD-LT - Basic (1). The entire L's are currently going through the Collection Review process and this section should be revised when the Review is complete.
Current Collecting Intensity:
L (Education General) - Basic (1)
LA (History of Education) - Basic (1)
LB (Theory and Practice of Education) - Basic (1) except for Higher Education which is Representative (2)
LC (Special Aspects of Education) - Basic (1) except material for courses in Canadian Studies, Music, Psychology and Sociology which are Selective (3). Much of the relevant material for these disciplines is classified with material on that subject.
LD-LT (Institutions, Colleges, Fraternities) - Basic (1)
Geographic Focus: Primarily Canadian.
Chronological Focus: Current
Languages Collected: Primarily English
Formats Collected: Primarily paper.
Access to Journal Articles: Access to ERIC is free on the internet (through the Library home page). Access to journal articles in Music education is also available through the print and electronic music indexes of that field. Access to journal articles relevant to Canadian Studies, Psychology and Sociology is also available through the print and electronic indexes pertinent to these disciplines.
Date: May 2001
Selector Responsible: Emma Cross (Ruth Miller to June 2001)
SUBJECT AREA: M - MUSIC
Purpose: The primary function of the music collections is the support of the degree programs of the Bachelor of Arts in music and the Bachelor of Music, covering the areas of theory and composition, music history and literature, music education, applied studies, and performance electives. In addition to supporting interdisciplinary courses in the arts and culture in the humanities and social sciences, the collections are a resource for musical activities within the University community and beyond. Most materials classed in the M schedule are housed in the Music Library.
Existing Collection Strength: A tradition of strong support for the collection of music materials is both a reflection of and a reason for the Alfred Whitehead Music Library. The mature collections are of considerable depth in some areas and reach the Selective (3) collection level; strengths beyond that level include Canadian music and musicians. The printed music collection is relatively strong in the area of historical sets and complete works of composers as is the literature about these composers in the ML410 section. Additionally, traditional Anglo-American folk music forms a significant part of the MMAML collection.
Current Collecting Intensity: A Selective (3) level of collecting should be maintained. Existing strengths are justified and should continue. There has been Representative collecting (2) in the areas of jazz, ethno-musicology, popular music, and world music; these will have a larger share in developing collections as the cross-cultural and interdisciplinary nature of the curriculum and the literature continues to broaden.
Geographic Focus: The focus has been the western musical canon, but the importance of world musics continues to grow.
Chronological Focus: An emphasis was placed in the common practice period of the European tradition. Broadening of this narrow focus continues with the widening scope of the discipline.
Languages Collected: The primary language is that of music. This is not intended to be a facetious statement with regard to library collections: musical language constitutes more than simply a different format. In materials of words about music, English is very much predominant, French is relevant particularly for Canadian coverage, and German is considered because of its special importance in the discipline. The study of vocal music requires reference materials for European languages.
Formats Collected: The three main formats are printed music, books about music, and audio-visual. The preferred audio medium is the compact disc. The Music Library maintains an audio (primarily tape and cassette) collection of local concerts. Video and DVD are important formats especially for performances of musical stage works.
Preservation Considerations: Printed music publications are not superseded by new editions or new music and therefore very little weeding is carried out in the M classification. Consequently, there is a need to preserve printed music materials longer than materials which are replaced. Binding or use of folders is often required for thin soft-bound items and / or those with parts. Evolving formats of audio-visual materials create additional preservation considerations, as well as requiring maintenance of equipment for formats which have been collected, but are now superseded (eg. the LP).
Access to Journal Articles: The Music Library has subscribed to the current music bibliography, Rilm Abstracts of music literature, since its inception in 1967. Paper and then the CD-ROM product were changed to web access in 1998.
The Music Library subscribed to the paper version of the Music index, which indexes only music journals, from its inception in 1949 to 1995. This was replaced with the CD-ROM product and then by web access in late 1996 to the International index to music periodicals. The subscription to IIMP was discontinued; the networked CD-ROM is current to 2002.
More music journal titles are being included in full-text databases including ProQuest, Project Muse, and now JSTOR.
From July 2002 the Libraries have subscribed to the electronic version of the major music encyclopedia, Grove Music Online.
Date: May 1996, last revised June 2003
Selector Responsible: Peter Higham
SUBJECT AREA: N - FINE ARTS and TR - PHOTOGRAPHY
Purpose: The primary function of these collection areas is support the work of students in the B.F.A. and B.A. in fine arts degree programs. The N's and TR's encompass interdisciplinary study and are of interest to other humanities and social science disciplines; they also include material in the fields of culture, town planning, environment, design. Relatively heavy circulation of materials indicates use beyond the fine arts curriculum.
Existing Collection Strength: The N's area of the collection are of limited strength. Though there have been efforts in the past of concentrating in certain areas (e.g., 19th-century painting), only some sections have reached the Selective (3) collection level.
Current Collecting Intensity: The areas of visual arts, sculpture, drawing/design, print media, painting, and photography should be collected at the Selective (3) level covering and maintaining a balance in the various media through historical periods, art criticism, and in current art exhibitions and trends. In other areas such as architecture, the decorative and applied arts, only Basic (1) collecting is expected.
Geographic Focus: Worldwide with a concentration on Western art.
Chronological Focus: All periods with an emphasis on contemporary art.
Languages Collected: Primarily English, though some French for Canadian coverage. Foreign exchange catalogues are often in other languages.
Formats Collected: Materials collected include books and periodicals. Videos and DVDs are naturally of particular importance for video and performance art. Slides are not purchased for this subject, since a slide collection is maintained by the Fine Arts Department. Formats collected require clarity of detail and expansive definition in graphic capability. CD-ROM and laserdisc technology are capable formats, though relatively little is available. There are many accessible, comprehensive fine arts web sites though graphic display on them only rarely attains the necessary standard.
Preservation Considerations: Materials are prone to mutilation (for the art works contained) and thus special consideration for replacement is needed. Large format and heavy special paper often require oversize shelving and extra mending. Flimsy items (e.g. exhibition catalogues) may require protective folders.
Access to Journal Articles: Art index is the major index for the field; it is available in paper (1929-1998) and electronically from 1984 to current. Because of the illustrative content of many fine arts and photography journals, full-text in electronic format, where available, is not usually a viable alternative to paper.
Date: May 1996, last revised June 2003
Selector Responsible: Peter Higham
SUBJECT AREA: P - PHILOLOGY AND LINGUISTICS, COMMUNICATION AND MASS MEDIA
Purpose: Supports language, linguistics and literature courses. Works covering the psychological, sociological, and biological aspects of language and language acquisition are of interest to students in Biology, Sociology, Anthropology and Psychology. Works on mass media and communication issues are relevant to courses in Sociology, Anthropology, Political Studies and Canadian Studies.
Existing Collection Strength: Representative (2) level.
Current Collecting Intensity: Representative (2).
Geographic Focus: Europe and North America.
Chronological Focus: Emphasis is on current research.
Languages Collected: English primarily; some French and some German.
Formats Collected: Preferred format is print, with some supporting video. Selected Internet resources of value are linked to from the Linguistics subject guide. A subject guide on Media Literacy also links to relevant web sites.
Access to Journal Articles: The library subscribes to no specialized indexes (such as LLBA) for articles on linguistics and the study of language, or Communication Abstracts for media studies. The MLA Bibliography is the most specific index available. Others, such as: Project Muse, ERIC, PsycINFO, JSTOR, Web of Knowledge, Science Direct, SocINDEX, and CBCA are also useful depending on the topic.
Date: May 2001, Revised May 2003, October 2013.
Selector Responsible: Anita Cannon
SUBJECT AREA: PA - CLASSICAL LANGUAGES AND LITERATURE
Purpose: To support the language and literature areas of the field of Classical Studies. (Classical Studies materials often fall in other areas of the classification incorporating the subjects of fine arts, history, philosophy.)
Existing Collection Strength: Most of the Classical literature collection is at the Selective (3) level. Some of the older editions of literature have been withdrawn.
Current Collecting Intensity: Some of the older volumes (some in German) require updated editions.
Geographic Focus: Ancient Greece and the Roman world.
Chronological Focus: Classical times.
Languages Collected: Primarily in English, but dealing with the classical languages of Latin and Greek.
Formats Collected: Mostly print.
Access to Journal Articles: The major index in the Classics field is L'Année Philologique, available in paper (1924-1999) and electronically as AnPhilNet from 1969 to current. There are several paper journal subscriptions in the area of classical philology with a few titles in full-text accessible electronically through ProQuest.
Date: May 2001, revised June 2003
Selector Responsible: Peter Higham
SUBJECT AREA: PB-PM - MODERN EUROPEAN LANGUAGES, ORIENTAL LANGUAGES AND LITERATURE, AMERICAN AND ARTIFICIAL LANGUAGES
Purpose: To support the work of students in the modern languages taught at Mount Allison (French, German, Spanish and Japanese), English Literature and Linguistics. General English and French dictionaries, grammars and style guides are also used by all students. More specialized dictionaries are especially useful for studies in English, French, German, and Spanish Literature, and Linguistics.
Existing Collection Strength:
PB - Modern Languages (General) & Celtic Languages: Basic (1)
PC - Romance Languages: Selective (3)
PD - Germanic Languages: Basic (1)
PE - English Language: Selective (3)
PF - West Germanic Languages: Selective (3)
PG - Slavic, Baltic, Albanian Languages and Literatures: Representative (2)
PH - Finno-Urgic, Basque Languages and Literatures: Basic (1)
PJ - Oriental Languages and Literatures (General) & Semitic Languages: Basic (1)
PK- Indo-Iranian Languages and Literatures: Basic (1)
PL - Languages and Literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania: Basic (1)
PM - Hyperborean, Indian, and Artificial Languages: Basic (1)
Current Collecting Intensity: As above.
Geographic Focus: Worldwide, with the focus on Europe and the Americas.
Chronological Focus: All periods. Emphasis is on recent publications.
Languages Collected: English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish. A basic dictionary is also collected for most common languages that use the roman alphabet.
Formats Collected: Mostly print. The Internet also has resources relevant for language studies. Selected web sites and online dictionaries are available through the Subject Guides for French, German, Japanese, Spanish and Linguistics and under Reference and Quick Facts.
Access to Journal Articles: For language study the major index available in the library is the MLA Bibliography. ProQuest, Science Direct, and Project Muse provide indexing and full-text access to several language study and linguistics journals not available in print.
Date: May 2001, Revised May 2003.
Selector Responsible: Anita Cannon
SUBJECT AREA: PN - LITERARY HISTORY
Purpose: To support work in literature communication, and cinema. This area includes works on literature and culture, including journalism, cinema and television. It supports work in general literary theory as well as criticism in all genres (poetry, drama, novel, short story, etc.) in all languages. It is of interest as well to those who are concerned with issues and trends in the media. It supports work in most humanities fields as well as many of the social sciences.
Existing Collection Strength: Most of the collection is at level (3) Selective, with particular strength in the reference collection. The media (press, television) is at the Representative (2) level, while the collections on cinema are approach level (3).
Current Collecting Intensity: Continuing emphasis on media and communications issues to bring this to level (3) selective. Also, there will be continued emphasis on material in the major trends in recent developments in literary theory, and on building in the area of cinema.
Geographic Focus: Worldwide, but with an emphasis on North America in the field of communications.
Chronological Focus: All periods, but with the major focus on the 20th century.
Access to Journal Articles:
Titles purchased 2000-2001: 476 (materials)
Serial subscriptions 2000-2001: 67 (serials)
Date: May 2001
Selector Responsible: Margaret Fancy
SUBJECT AREA: PQ - ROMANCE LITERATURES, FRENCH, SPANISH
Purpose: To support work in French-language literature and Spanish-language literature as well as interdisciplinary work in Canadian Studies and Drama.
Existing Collection Strength: The existing collection in the French section is at the Selective (3) level for the most part, aiming for complete collections of major authors, and at the Representative (2) level for secondary authors. Critical works are acquired for all authors taught and selectively for others. Areas that need attention are the late 20th century authors in all genres, particularly Quebec and Acadian authors. A recent focus on works from other countries within the francophonie and by women also needs more development. Critical works for these areas are also needed.
The Spanish collection is maintained at the Representative (2) level, with Selective (3) level maintained for those authors who are specifically taught in courses. Critical works are acquired for all authors taught and selectively for others. Areas that need attention are the late 20th century authors in all genres.
The literature of Italy and Portugal are collected only in translation when authors are taught in the curriculum.
Current Collecting Intensity: The above levels should be maintained. The collection should have good editions of all of the works of major authors, representative works of other authors, and a selective collection of critical and biographical writing about authors, in all genres through all periods.
Geographic Focus: The focus for French-language literature has expanded recently from France and Quebec to include works from the rest of Canada, particularly Acadian authors, but also authors from the Caribbean, Africa, and other European countries.
The focus for Spanish-language literature is spain and Latin America.
Chronological Focus: All periods. Collecting emphasis is on current critical works and 20th century authors, with replacement copies obtained and gaps filled in the older collection as possible.
Languages Collected: Primary works in French and Spanish with selected key works also in English translation. Critical and reference works are acquired in English and the target languages.
Formats Collected: The preferred format is print on paper, with a good core selection of serial titles, and videos and DVDs in the target languages.
Preservation: Much of this material is issued in paperback format, and thus is prone to damage. The major authors are heavily used, and care has to be given to constant review for replacement purchases, to ensure that there are good editions of all major authors present.
Access to Journal Articles: The major electronic indexes for both Spanish and French literature are the MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. CBCA is useful for French-Canadian literature. Additional indexes for French Literature and cinema include Rep�re and, in print, French XX, Bibliographie d'histoire littéraire française (Klapp) and Critical Bibliography of French Literature.
The library has no major bibliography specifically for Spanish literature.
Selectors Responsible: Jeff Lilburn (French Literature) and Peter Higham (Spanish Literature)
Date: May 2001 (Anita Cannon); updated May 2003 (JL and PH)
SUBJECT AREA: PR-PS - ENGLISH LITERATURE
Purpose: To provide the scholarly support for work in the areas of English literature. Interdisciplinary relationships are with all Humanities subjects, and many Social Science subjects.
Existing Collection Strength: This is a mature, well developed subject area, with works of major authors collected at the Selective (3) level, and secondary authors at the Representative (2) level. A major strength of the collection is the Shakespeare material. Critical works are acquired for all authors taught and selectively for others. Additional collecting of major authors of the second half of the twentieth century and of titles of modern literary criticism and schools of critical thought is necessary.
Chronological Focus: All periods, with lesser emphasis on the period prior to 1600.
Geographic Focus: Worldwide, but with emphasis on the North American and British traditions. There is a growing interest in commonwealth literature.
Preservation Needs: One consideration for this material, particularly of major authors, is to have a regular programme of replacement of titles which receive very heavy use. It is a part of the collection which receives heavy use, and it is important to ensure that there are good editions of all authors who are taught in courses.
Formats Collected: Books and serial publications are of almost equal importance. Videos, DVDs and audio CDs (plays, poetry) are also occasionally purchased.
Current Collection Intensity: All periods and genres with increasing emphasis on Literature, Criticism and Theory of the second half of the Twentieth Century to the present.
Access to Journal Articles: The main indexes in this field are the MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Index, CBCA, and ProQuest Research Library. Other include JSTOR, Project Muse, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, World Shakespeare Bibliography Online, Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance, Ingenta, and the Canadian Periodical Index.
Date: May 1996 (Revised May 2003)
Selector Responsible: Jeff Lilburn
SUBJECT AREA: PT-PZ - GERMAN LITERATURE AND JUVENILE BELLE LETTRES
Purpose: German Literature: To support the work of students studying the German language and German literature. Works are acquired in the original and in translation also for interdisciplinary work in drama and cultural studies. Juvenile Belle Lettres: Supports courses in folklore and children's literature.
Existing Collection Strength: The German Literature collection has a good representation of the works of major German authors, and critical works about them. Collection level is Selective (3). An area that needs further development is authors of the late 20th century and current authors. Literature in teutonic languages other than German is not collected. Selected key works in Scandanavian and Icelandic literatures are collected in translation. There are few titles acquired in the PZ (Children's Literature) area.
Current Collecting Intensity: As above. The collection should have good editions of all of the works of major authors taught, in all genres, representative works of other important authors, and a selective collection of critical works.
Geographic Focus: German-language literature primarily from Germany, but also from other European countries.
Chronological Focus: All periods are collected.
Languages Collected: Primary works are acquired in German, critical works are acquired mainly in English. Authors studied in programs other than German and key selected works are purchased in translation.
Formats Collected: The emphasis is on books. Video is also collected, particularly to support the course on German cinema. Selected web sites are accessible from the German Language & Literature subject guide.
Preservation: Care has to be given to replace damaged copies, especially older, heavily used works, to ensure there are good editions of all major authors present.
Access to Journal Articles: MLA is the main general index available. Other multidisciplinary databases with relevant content are JSTOR, Project Muse, PAO, and Web of Knowledge. More comprehensive coverage is available through the bibliographies Germanistik and Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literatur-Wissenschaft.
Date: May 2001, Revised May 2003, Oct. 2013
Selector Responsible: Anita Cannon
SUBJECT AREA: Q - GENERAL SCIENCE
Purpose (major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): science students and other students, faculty, administration and the general public needing general scientific information. Students taking courses in the history of a scientific discipline such as the history of mathematics, students taking the philosophy of science course, student enrolled in the history of technology course and students studying ethics in science.
Existing Collection Strength: Selective
Current Collecting Intensity:
history of science: selective
philosophy of science: selective
history of technology: selective
other areas of general science: representative
Geographic focus: North America and Great Britain.
Chronological focus: None.
Languages collected: English
Formats collected: Paper, micro formats, video.
Access to Journal Articles: Philosopher's Index, General Science Index and Applied Science and Technology Index on the ERL server at UNB provides access to a wide range of general scientific publications. ProQuest Direct Research Library does not adequately address pure scientific publications. Faculty have access to the table of contents service offered by Current Contents, MathSciNet*, Web of Science*, and CarlUncover. The Library is currently responsible for the annual subscription fees and faculty are responsible for the cost of the delivery of articles. Students can consult CarlUncover as an indexing service only. IDEAL Library* and Springer-Verlag Link* provide additional full text journal article access. [*Access is through the CNSLP Agreement.]
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 28, 1998/ May 4, 1999; June 14, 2000; March 31, 2001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 623 (1996) | Increase |
| 682 (1998) | 9.5% |
| 818 (1999) | 19.9% |
| 990 (2000) | 21% |
| 1034 (2001) | 4.4% |
SUBJECT AREA: QA - MATHEMATICS & COMPUTER SCIENCE
Purpose (major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): Students enrolled in the minor, major and honours programme in mathematics and the minor and major programme in computer studies. Mathematics as the language of science is used in all scientific disciplines especially physics. Statistics and statistical methods are used in commerce, economics, geography, sociology, etc.
Existing Collection Strength: Representative.
Current Collecting Intensity: Representative for all the major branches of mathematics and computer science.
Geographic focus: North America.
Chronological focus: None. Computer Science current materials only.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper, microfilm and computer software.
Access to Journal Articles: Faculty and students have access to the table of contents service offered by Current Content, MathSciNet* and CarlUncover. The Library is currently responsible for the annual subscription fees and faculty are responsible for the cost of the delivery of articles. Students can consult CarlUncover as an indexing service only. MathSciNet* which covers Mathematical Reviews 1940-, Current Mathematical Publications, ACM Guide to Computing Literature, Computing Review, Technical Reports in Computer Science, Current Index to Statistics and Index to Statistics and Probability. IDEAL Library* provides additional full text journal article access. CNSLP provides for full text articles from Springer-Verlag Link*. WEB of Science* provides additional access via Science Citation Index. [Access is through CNSLP Agreement.]
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 28, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 14, 2000; March 31, 2001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 1996 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | |
| QA 75-80: | 249 | 291 (16.9%) | 326 (12.0%) | 377 (15.6%) | 417 (10.6%) |
| Other QA: | 884 | 999 (13.0%) | 1222 (22.3%) | 1404 (14.9%) | 1492 (6.3%) |
| Total: | 1133 | 1290 (13.9%) | 1548 (20.0%) | 1781 (15.1%) | 1909 (7.2%) |
SUBJECT AREA: QB - ASTRONOMY
Purpose ( major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): Students studying astronomy and astrophysics.
Existing Collection Strength: Representative.
Current Collecting Intensity: Representative.
Geographic focus: North America.
Chronological focus: None.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper, video and computer software.
Access to Journal Articles: Faculty and students have access to the table of contents service offered by Current Contents and CarlUncover. The Library is currently responsible for the annual subscription fees and faculty are responsible for the cost of the delivery of articles. Students can consult CarlUncover as an indexing service only. General indexing provided through General Science Index and Applied Science and Technology Index. IDEAL Library*, IOPP* and Springer-Verlag Link* provides additional full text journal article access. Additional indexing is possible through WEB of Science* [Science Citation Index]. [*Access is through the CNSLP Agreement.]
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 28, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 14, 2000; March 31, 2001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 357 (1996) | Increase |
| 422 (1998) | 18.2% |
| 491 (1999) | 16.4% |
| 575 (2000) | 17.1% |
| 606 (2001) | 5.4% |
SUBJECT AREA: QC - PHYSICS
Purpose (major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): Students in the minor, major or honours programme in physics.
Existing Collection Strength: Selective in most branches of Physics.
Current Collecting Intensity: Representative for most branches of Physics.
Geographic focus: North America.
Chronological focus: None.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper, micro formats, video and computer software.
Access to Journal Articles: ProQuest Research Library does not adequately address this area. General Science Index and Applied Science and Technology Index provide access to limited general research. Faculty have access to the indexing of tables of contents provided by Current Contents, WEB of Science* [Science Citation Index], MathSciNet* and CarlUncover. IOPP*, Springer-Verlag Link*, and IDEAL Library* provides additional full text journal article access. The cost of document delivery from these systems is the responsibility of individual faculty members. Mediated searching is provided on the INSPEC database free of charge for faculty and students. [Access is through the CNSLP Agreement.]
Date: April 6, 1996 Revised: January 28, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 14, 2000; March 31, 2001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 688 (1996) | Increase |
| 819 (1998) | 19.0% |
| 1009 (1999) | 23.2% |
| 1102 (2000) | 9.2% |
| 1166 (2001) | 5.8% |
SUBJECT AREA: QD - CHEMISTRY; and BIOCHEMISTRY
Purpose (major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): Minor, major, honours and graduates studies in physical, organic, inorganic, organometallics and bioinorganic chemistry and major and honours study in biochemistry.
Existing Collection Strength: QD-selective.
Current Collecting Intensity: QD-representative. Physical, organic, inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry are covered about equally.
Geographic focus: None.
Chronological focus: Current.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper, micro formats, video, computer software.
Access to Journal Articles: Free online searching provided for Biosis Previews and Chemical Abstracts for faculty and students in lieu of paper version. ProQuest Research Library does not address the chemical sciences adequately. General Science Index and Applied Science and Technology Index can be used for general research in this area. Faculty and students have access to Current Contents, WEB of Science* [Science Citation Index] and CarlUncover for indexing of the tables of contents of journals and for document delivery. IDEAL Library*, American Chemical Society*, Royal Society of Chemistry*, Springer-Verlag Link* provides additional full text access. Document delivery charges are the responsible of individual faculty. The Library pays any user fees attached to these systems. [Access is through the CNSLP Agreement.]
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 28, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 15, 2000; March 31, 2001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 779 (1996) | Increase |
| 811 (1998) | 4.1% |
| 916 (1999) | 12.9% |
| 992 (2000) | 8.3% |
| 1008 (2001) | 1.7% |
SUBJECT AREA: QE - GEOSCIENCES
Purpose (interdisciplinary relationships): Students working in physical geography, palaeontology, environmental studies/science and in others interdisciplinary areas such as Biology, Biochemistry and Chemistry. Some of the materials for the curriculum (global change, life on earth and coastal oceanography) being offered in this area are classed elsewhere - GE, QC, T and QH.
Curriculum is changing to focus more on geomorphology and oceanography. Materials from these subject areas fall more in GE and QC than QE.
Geoscience is part of the Geography Department.
Existing Collection Strength: Selective.
Current Collecting Intensity: Basic. A substantial number of documents from the Geological Survey of Canada and Remote Sensing Canada are added annually to the Government Documents Collection from the Depository Services Programme of the Federal Government.
Geographic focus: North America.
Chronological focus: Current.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper and micro formats.
Access to Journal Articles: ProQuest Direct Research Library does not adequately address this area. General Science Index and Applied Science and Technology Index can provide some access to for general research. Faculty and students have access to the indexing and full text services provided by IDEAL Library*, WEB of Science* [Science Citation Index], Springer-Verlag Link*, CarlUncover and Current Contents. The cost of document delivery from these systems is the responsibility of individual faculty members. [*Access is through the CNSLP Agreement.]
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 29, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 15, 2000; March 31, 2001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 1168 (1996) | |
| 1206 (1998) | 3.3% |
| 1202 (1999) | -0.3% |
| 1231 (2000) | 2.4% |
| 1322 (2001) | 7.4% |
NOTE: during 1998/1999 many journal titles in this field were withdrawn from the collection. Also, most publications coming from the United States Geology Survey and the geological surveys of Canadian provincial governments were also withdrawn. The bulk of this material has been transferred to the Fundy Geological Museum in Parsboro, Nova Scotia.
SUBJECT AREA: QH,QK,QL,QM,QP,QR - BIOLOGY and BIOCHEMISTRY (QH-Biology; QK-Botany; QL-Zoology; QM-Human Physiology; QP-Physiology; QR-Microbiology)
Purpose (major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): Minor, major, honours and graduates studies in biology, interdisciplinary major and honours studies in biopsychology. Related studies in environmental studies/science, biochemistry, bioinorganic chemistry and biophysics. New courses added for 2000/2001: Paleontology, Mammalogy, Mycology, Virology, Endocrinology, Advanced Marine Science and Advanced Biometrics.
Existing Collection Strength: QM-QR basic, QK-QP-representative, and QH-QL-selective.
Current Collecting Intensity: QH[biology and natural history]-selective, QK[botany]-representative, QL[zoology]-selective, QM[human anatomy]-basic, QP[physiology, biochemistry and psychology]-selective, and QR[microbiology]-representative.
Geographic focus: None.
Chronological focus: Current.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper, micro formats, video, computer software.
Access to Journal Articles: Free online mediated searching provided for BIOSIS Previews and Chemical Abstracts for faculty and students in lieu of paper version. ProQuest Direct Research Library does not address the life sciences adequately. General Science Index, Applied Science and Technology Index and Waves can be used for general research in this area. Medline and Agricola, which are free over the Internet, provides excellent access to articles. Faculty and students have access to Current Contents, Web of Science* [Science Citation Index] and CarlUncover for indexing of the tables of contents of journals and for document delivery. Document delivery charges are the responsible of individual faculty. The Library pays any user fees attached to these two systems. IDEAL Library*, Springer Verlag Link*, American Chemical Society* and Royal Society of Chemistry* are an excellent source of fulltext articles in this field. [Access is through the CNSLP Agreement.]
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 28, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 14, 2000; March 31, 2001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 1996 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | |
| QH - biology & natural history | 980 | 1095 (11.7%) | 1246 (13.8%) | 1348 (8.2%) | 1452 (7.7%) |
| QK - botany | 391 | 437 (11.8%) | 511 (16.9%) | 544 (6.5%) | 579 (6.4%) |
| QL - zoology | 749 | 820 (9.5%) | 997 (21.6%) | 1067 (7%) | 1121 (5.1%) |
| QM - human biology | 19 | 20 (5.5%) | 26 (30%) | 30 (15.4%) | 32 (6.7%) |
| QP - physiology & biochemistry psychology |
488 | 530 (8.6%) | 632 (19.2%) | 690 (9.2%) | 722 (4.6%) |
| QR - microbiology | 145 | 151 (4.1%) | 174 (15.2%) | 186 (6.9%) | 199 (7.0%) |
| Total: | 2772 | 3053 (10.1%) | 3586 (17.5%) | 3865 (7.8%) | 4105 (6.2%) |
SUBJECT AREA: R - MEDICINE
Purpose (major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): Serves students studying in psychology, biology, biochemistry, chemistry, classics, sociology and anthropology. Also students preparing for further studies in medicine and dentistry, audiology and speech language pathology, occupational therapy, pharmacy, physiotherapy, optometry and veterinary medicine.
Existing Collection Strength: Representative.
Current Collecting Intensity: Representative with special emphasis on the medical aspects of psychology/psychiatry and history of medicine.
Geographic focus: North America and ancient Greece and Rome.
Chronological focus: Current.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper.
Access to Journal Articles: Faculty and students have access to the table of contents service offered by Current Contents, Web of Science* [Science Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index] and CarlUncover. The Library is currently responsible for the annual subscription fees and faculty are responsible for the cost of the delivery of articles. Students can consult CarlUncover as an indexing service only. General Science Index, Applies Science and Technology Index and PsycInfo through the consortium with other libraries provide access to the journal literature of the medical aspects of psychology/psychiatry. Index Medicus (Medline) is available over the Internet free of charge. IDEAL Library* and Springer-Verlag Link* provides some additional full text access to medical literature. [* part of CNSLP Agreement]
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 29, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 15, 2000; March 31, 20001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 1996 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | |
| R - general | 142 | 163 | 199 | 251 | 281 |
| RA - public aspects | 194 | 222 | 262 | 312 | 345 |
| RB - pathology | 26 | 26 | 33 | 42 | 45 |
| RC - internal medicine | 445 | 486 | 545 | 643 | 678 |
| RD - surgery | 10 | 11 | 15 | 16 | 18 |
| RE - ophthalmology | 4 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 5 |
| RF - otorhinolaryngology | 6 | 7 | 7 | 8 | 8 |
| RG - gynaecology | 27 | 36 | 47 | 56 | 62 |
| RJ - pediatrics | 98 | 105 | 111 | 122 | 128 |
| RK - dentistry | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| RL - dermatology | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| RM - pharmacology | 40 | 45 | 56 | 59 | 61 |
| RS - pharmacy | 16 | 18 | 23 | 26 | 29 |
| RT - nursing | 13 | 15 | 19 | 23 | 24 |
| RV - botanic | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| RX - homeopathy | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| RZ - other | 1 | 1 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
| Total | 1023 | 1141 | 1327 | 1571 | 1695 |
| Increase | 11.5% | 16.3% | 18.4% | 7.9% |
SUBJECT AREA: S - AGRICULTURE
Purpose (major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): Serves students studying in courses in economics, biology, environmental studies/science and biochemistry. Not directly related to any particular area of the curriculum.
Existing Collection Strength: S-SB-SD-SH Representative and SF-SK Basic.
Current Collecting Intensity: S[general]-SB[plant]-SD[forestry]-SF[animal]-SH[aquaculture]-SK[hunting] Basic.
Geographic focus: North America.
Chronological focus: Current.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper.
Access to Journal Articles: Waves and Agricola can be used as indexes to the journal literature. Both are free over the Internet. Other CD-ROM indexes do not directly relate to this area. ProQuest Direct Research Library does not adddress this area. Current Contents, WEB of Science* and CarlUncover may be used by faculty and students as additional resources. None of the products acquired through CNSLP address this subject area directly. [*available via CNSLP]
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 29, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 15, 2000
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 1996 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | |
| S - general | 172 | 172 | 188 | 199 | 204 |
| SB - plant | 93 | 103 | 125 | 147 | 156 |
| SD - forestry | 45 | 61 | 71 | 81 | 88 |
| SF - animal | 47 | 50 | 54 | 58 | 60 |
| SH - Agriculture | 153 | 177 | 192 | 209 | 216 |
| SK - hunting | 23 | 25 | 25 | 26 | 26 |
| Total | 533 | 588 | 655 | 720 | 750 |
| Increase | 10.3% | 11.4% | 9.9% | 4.2% |
SUBJECT AREA: T - TECHNOLOGY (except TR)
NOTE: Engineering and Geoscience as curriculum offerings are being dropped. Collecting in this area will be restricted to general interest materials only except for TD, TK and TP. The last certificate in Engineering was awarded at spring convocation 2000.
Note: A new course in History: 3501 A social and political history of food in North America may impact the TX classification. Also two new courses in English: 1121 Literature, Science and Technology and 4931: Selected topics in text and technology may also impact this area.
Purpose (major target group and interdisciplinary relationships): Serves students studying computer technology (TK), chemical engineering (TP) and environmental studies/science. Information specifically dealing with the Internet are also classed here.
Existing Collection Strength: T-TA-TD-TJ-TK-TL Representative, TC-TE-TF-TG-TH-TS-TT-TX Basic, and TN-TP Selective.
Current Collecting Intensity: TC [hydraulics]-TE [highways]-TF [railroads]-TG [bridges]-TH [buildings]-TJ [mechanical]-TL [vehicles]-TN [mining]-TS [manufacturing]-TT [arts and crafts]-TX [home economics] Basic, T-TA [general engineering]-TD [environmental]-TK [electrical]-TP [chemical engineering] Representative. Publications on the Internet fall in the TK5000's and will be collected selectively.
Geographic focus: North America.
Chronological focus: Current.
Languages collected: English.
Formats collected: Paper, video and computer software.
Access to Journal Articles: The current CD-ROM products do not directly address any of these areas. ProQuest Direct Research Library is weak in the areas of science and technology. Current Contents, WEB of Science* [Science Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index], CarlUncover and other Internet resources may be used by faculty and students. Springer-Verlag Link*, American Chemical Society*, and the Royal Society of Chemistry* do offers several full text journals in this area in many of the subject areas. [Access is through CNSLP Agreement].
Date: April 8, 1996 Revised: January 29, 1998; May 4, 1999; June 15, 2000; March 31, 2001
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
| 1996 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | |
| T - general | 174 | 203 | 240 | 261 | 276 |
| TA - engineering | 128 | 137 | 133 | 141 | 144 |
| TC - hydraulics | 28 | 30 | 33 | 37 | 40 |
| TD - environment | 116 | 131 | 156 | 174 | 187 |
| TE - hydrology | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| TF - railroads | 8 | 10 | 10 | 13 | 14 |
| TG - bridges | 12 | 10 | 12 | 13 | 13 |
| TH - buildings | 43 | 55 | 50 | 51 | 53 |
| TJ - mechanics | 77 | 78 | 81 | 84 | 93 |
| TK - electronics (Internet) | 187 | 206 | 227 | 241 | 265 |
| TL - vehicles | 70 | 75 | 83 | 91 | 96 |
| TN - mining | 230 | 229 | 227 | 223 | 224 |
| TP - chemical | 100 | 106 | 118 | 124 | 127 |
| TS - manufacturing | 80 | 85 | 104 | 111 | 115 |
| TT - arts and crafts | 44 | 48 | 56 | 76 | 82 |
| TX - home economics | 58 | 69 | 89 | 110 | 114 |
| Total | 1355 | 1473 | 1620 | 1751 | 1844 |
| Increase | 8.7% | 10.0% | 8.1% | 5.3% |
SUBJECT AREA: U-V - MILITARY SCIENCE AND NAVAL SCIENCE
Purpose: Material in this subject area supports work in political studies, history, strategic studies, foreign relations, and Canadian Studies.
Existing Collection Strength: Material is collected in this subject area at the Representative (2) level with emphasis at the Selective (3) level on that part of the collection which relates to strategic studies and the Canadian Military.
Current Collecting Intensity: As above.
Chronological Focus: Focus is on the twentieth century with basic material collected for other periods.
Formats Collected: Books and serials, with some video also collected.
Access to Journal Articles: Adequate access is provided through the general indexes such as the Social Sciences Index, CBCA, Current Contents, CarlUncover, and ProQuest Research Library.
Currently (May 2000) there were 1000 titles in the U-V classification in the online catalogue.
Date: July 27, 2000
Selector Responsible: Brian McNally
Find Information | Research Help | Services & Facilities | About the Libraries | Contact Us
Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives
49 York Street, Sackville NB, E4L 1C6 Canada
Hours | About the Libraries | Contact Us
Music Library | University Archives | Mount Allison University