Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

Ella Smith: Travels

A virtual exhibition on one of Mount Allison University's most fascinating scholars.

Travels


Ella L. Smith travelled extensively throughout the 1930s, something that was unusual for a single woman at the time. Her interest in political research led her to former Yugoslavia, Hungary, Austria and Czechoslovakia, Poland, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Soviet Russia, and finally to Spain. What remains of this time abroad is a series of correspondence, research notes, lecture pamphlets, promotional materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, and postcards. 

A selection has been digitized for inclusion in this virtual exhibition. These images represent a very small portion of the total collection. To peruse the full list of content, visit the Ella L. Smith fonds (accession no. 7304) or search our Descriptions Database.

 

Gallery


Front cover of a pamphlet with title and image of Ella Smith.

Pamphlet entitled “Lectures on Soviet Russia," [193-?]

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/2. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Two pages of a pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet entitled “Lectures on Soviet Russia," [193-?]

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/2. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Verso of pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet entitled “Lectures on Soviet Russia," [193-?]

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/2. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Typed letter pasted onto the lined pages of a notebook.

Note from Robert Porter Keep, Principal of Miss Porter’s School in Farmington, Connecticut, about Smith's lecture entitled "Through Russia with a Camera," 1932

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/1 p. 40. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Front cover of a pamphlet with title and other textual information.

Pamphlet entitled "Lectures on Russia," [193-?]

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/3. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Two pages of a pamphlet with text and annotations.

Pamphlet entitled "Lectures on Russia," [193-?]

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/3. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Verso of pamphlet with handwritten notes.

Pamphlet entitled "Lectures on Russia," [193-?]

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/3. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Front and verso of postcard featuring an image of the square and notes by Ella Smith to identify the image.

Postcard featuring Sverdlov Square and the Grand Theatre, Moscow, 1931

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/4. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Front cover of a brown notebook with handwritten title in red:

Notebook entitled "Prices Russia 1932 – expense account," 1931-1932

Item consists of an accounting of expenses while staying in Russia which includes a number of product labels and [receipts ?] some written in the Cyrillic alphabet.

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/3/4. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Front cover of a pamphlet with title and other textual information.

Pamphlet entitled "Lectures on Yugoslavia," ca. 1934

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/4/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Two pages of a pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet entitled "Lectures on Yugoslavia," ca. 1934

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/4/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Verso of pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet entitled "Lectures on Yugoslavia," ca. 1934

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/4/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Front cover of a pamphlet with title and other textual information.

Pamphlet entitled "Illustrated Lectures on Central Europe," ca. 1934

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/4/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Two pages of a pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet entitled "Illustrated Lectures on Central Europe," ca. 1934

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/4/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Verso of pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet entitled "Illustrated Lectures on Central Europe," ca. 1934

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/4/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Handwritten letter from Ella L. Smith to family and friends.

Letter from Ella Smith in Spain, 1936

The item consists of a fourteen page hand-written letter on Royalty Gran Hotel stationery while in Santander, Spain sent from Miss Ella Smith to Helen and Anne (Read?). The contents of the item provides day by day accounts of what she had done, the people she had met and interviewed, along with details and diagrams about important events or battles. The item concludes with references to her lecturing schedule upon her return and some related personal details.

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/5/9. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Front cover of a pamphlet with title and image of Ella Smith.

Pamphlet outlining talk on “The Spanish Revolution and Civil War”

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/5/15. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Page of pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet outlining talk on “The Spanish Revolution and Civil War”

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/5/15. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Page of pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet outlining talk on “The Spanish Revolution and Civil War”

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/5/15. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Page of pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet outlining talk on “The Spanish Revolution and Civil War”

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/5/15. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Page of pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet outlining talk on “The Spanish Revolution and Civil War”

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/5/15. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Page of pamphlet with text.

Pamphlet outlining talk on “The Spanish Revolution and Civil War”

Mount Allison University Archives. Ella L. Smith fonds, 7304/2/5/15. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.