It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The first place to look for most Soc topics. SocINDEX indexes and provides full text access for hundreds of Sociology journals from 1908 to the present. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for thousands of conference papers.
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously: ABI, Canadian Research Index, CBCA, Periodicals Archive Online, the Politics Collection (PAIS, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, Worldwide Political Abstracts), Philosopher's Index, ProQuest Central, Research Library, and the Historical Newspapers collections of the Globe & Mail (1844-2013) and Toronto Star (1894-2015).
Already got a citation for an article and you want to find it at the library?
Use Journal Finder to search for the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper.
Journal Finder will direct you to the database in which a journal is available in digital format.
Key Journals for Women's and Gender Studies
Women's and Gender Studies is an interdisciplinary subject. These journals are only a small sample of what is available and you are encouraged to explore the Journal Finder tool to find articles related to Women's and Gender Studies in journals that might be classified under History, Social Work, Sociology, Law, and so on.
At the forefront of feminist publishing in South Africa for over 20 years, the Agenda journal raises debate, probes, questions, challenges and critiques understandings of gender and feminism in its broad and complex diversity. Agenda prides itself on being at the cutting edge of feminist debate and gender analysis, and the journal provides readers with a fresh, challenging, stimulating and thought-provoking read.
Studies in Gender and Sexuality is one of the leading journals in the transdisciplinary field of gender and sexuality studies. Situated at the interface of psychoanalysis and social/cultural theory, it aims to further our understanding of how we live, theorize and transform genders and sexualities.
Asian Journal of Women's Studies is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by Ewha Womans University Press. Its articles have a theoretical focus, and its country reports provide information on specific subjects and countries. The journal also publishes research notes and book reviews containing information on recent publications on women in Asia and elsewhere.
Canadian Woman Studies is a feminist, peer-reviewed quarterly which was founded with the goal of making current writing and research on a wide variety of feminist topics accessible to the largest possible community of women. During our forty plus years of publication we have attempted to create a forum in which all of us--not only university women--can exchange our ideas, personal experiences, expertise and creativity. By demystifying our communications with one another we are actively working towards serving as a middle ground between the scholarly and the popular, between theory and activism.