Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome: Women's & Gender Studies
This guide is designed to help you conduct research for Women's and Gender Studies. Use the tabbed menu to navigate to recommended databases and websites.
View related guides:
Featured New Books
Gender in Music Production by
Call Number: Music Library: ML 82 .G46 2020
Publication Date: 2020
The field of music production has for many years been regarded as male-dominated. Despite growing acknowledgement of this fact, and some evidence of diversification, it is clear that gender representation on the whole remains quite unbalanced. Gender in Music Production brings together industry leaders, practitioners, and academics to present and analyze the situation of gender within the wider context of music production as well as to propose potential directions for the future of the field.
Feminist Thinking about Work by
Call Number: HD 6053 .F48 2020
Publication Date: 2019
Across the world women are taking to the streets to protest unfair working conditions, abortion laws, and sexual violence. They are demanding decent wages, better schools and free childcare. But why do some feminists choose to fight for more women CEOs, while others fight for a world without CEOs? Engaging with feminist anti-work critiques, Ferguson proposes that women's emancipation depends upon a radical reimagining of all labour and advocates for a renewed social reproduction framework as a powerful basis for an inclusive feminist politics.
Re-Enchanting the World by
Call Number: HQ 1233 .F43 2019
An edited collection Silvia Federici's work, spanning over twenty years, in which she provides a detailed history and critique of the politics of the commons from a feminist perspective. In her clear and combative voice, Federici provides readers with an analysis of some of the key issues and debates in contemporary thinking on this subject. Drawing on rich historical research, she maps the connections between the previous forms of enclosure that occurred with the birth of capitalism and the destruction of the commons and the 'new enclosures' at the heart of the present phase of global capitalist accumulation.
Buying Gay by
Call Number: HQ 76.3 .U5 J583 2019
In 1951, a new type of publication appeared on newsstands?the physique magazine produced by and for gay men. For many men growing up in the 1950s and 1960s, these magazines and their images and illustrations of nearly naked men, as well as articles, letters from readers, and advertisements, served as an initiation into gay culture. The publishers behind them were part of a wider world of ?physique entrepreneurs?: men as well as women who ran photography studios, mail-order catalogs, pen-pal services, book clubs, and niche advertising for gay audiences. Such businesses have often been seen as peripheral to the gay political movement. In this book, David K. Johnson shows how gay commerce was not a byproduct but rather an important catalyst for the gay rights movement. Offering a vivid look into the lives of physique entrepreneurs and their customers, and presenting a wealth of illustrations, Buying Gay explores the connections?and tensions?between the market and the movement. With circulation rates many times higher than the openly political ?homophile? magazines, physique magazines were the largest gay media outlets of their time. This network of producers and consumers helped foster a gay community and upend censorship laws, paving the way for open expression. Physique entrepreneurs were at the center of legal struggles, especially against the U.S. Post Office, including the court victory that allowed full-frontal male nudity and open homoeroticism. Buying Gay reconceives the history of the gay rights movement and shows how consumer culture helped create community and a site for resistance.
Novanet: Start your research here.
Novanet: Start your research here.
Quick search for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music & more
A new version of Novanet has just been launched!
Help: find search tips and a brief overview of what's new in the new Novanet:
Novanet Search Tips | Which Search Tool Should I Use?
You can browse eBook collections at Mount Allison 3 different ways:
1. Search in Novanet! There are thousands of eBooks available to Mount Allison students in Novanet. If you are looking for a specific book, there's a chance we have access to it as an eBook.
2. Browse our list of eBook databases. Each database covers different topics and types of books.
3. Visit our eBook Collections page