Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Reference and Web Sources: Women's & Gender Studies
Discovering American Women's History Online
"This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States."
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women & Gender in the Ancient World
Now archived, this website Includes a searchable bibliography and links to online resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images. Also includes direct links to resources within The Perseus Digital Library and tips for finding other relevant information there.
Nova Scotia Advisory Council on the Status of Women
A great site with information for and about women in Nova Scotia and beyond. See "Library and NSACSW Publications" link. You can also search their library's catalogue for a variety of resources (books, videos, audio, government documents and other reports). As well, there is a categorized list of links to other related websites.
ViVa: A Bibliography of Women's & Gender History in Historical and Women's Studies Journals
A searchable bibliography of over 5200 articles from 114 international journals, 1975-to date. Compiled by the International Institute of Social History.
Voice of the Shuttle: Gender & Sexuality Studies
Hosted by the University of California, Santa Barbara, a list of websites on a variety topics in gender and sexuality studies, with brief annotations.
Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
This website is now archived. An annotated list of websites on a wide variety of topics within women's studies. Organized by subject. Developed and maintained by the Women's Studies Section Collection Development Committee of the Association of College and Research Libraries.
Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites
An annotated list of websites selected as being of particular use to an academic women's studies program. From the Center for Women and Information Technology at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County.
Gender Inn: an Internet Database for Gender Studies
Gender Inn is a database collecting academic publications within the field of gender studies in the humanities, but also including related areas, such as history, psychology, sociology, political and educational science and others. Because of the vast number of publications, we limit inclusion in the database mainly to monographs.
For additional help with data and statistical research, please contact the Data and Digital Services Librarian, Elizabeth Stregger, email@example.com
Suggest a Source
Do you have an excellent Women's & Gender Studies book, eBook, journal, film, or website to suggest? Please e-mail Laura Landon, firstname.lastname@example.org.