Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Books for Women's & Gender Studies
Atlas of Gender and Development by
Call Number: HQ 1237.5 .D44 A85 2010 REF
Gender inequality holds back not just women but the economic and social development of entire societies. Overcoming discrimination is important in the fight against poverty in developing countries. But tackling such inequalities is not easy: in many countries, discrimination against women is deeply rooted in social institutions such as the family and the law. The OECD Atlas of Gender and Development provides an innovative new way of looking at sources of discrimination.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women by
Call Number: HQ 1115 .R69 2000 REF
Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women brings the field into the new millennium. In over 900 signed A-Z entries from US and Europe, Asia, the Americas, Oceania, and the Middle East, the women who pioneered the field from its inception collaborate with the new scholars who are shaping the future of women's studies to create the new standard work for anyone who needs information on women-related subjects.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by
Call Number: eBook
The Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women have played throughout world history. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college and high school students, and general readers alike.
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by
Call Number: eBook
This volume covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
Women's Lives Around the World: a Global Encyclopedia [4 Volumes] by
Call Number: eBook
Providing an in-depth look at the lives of women and girls in approximately 150 countries, this multivolume reference set offers readers transnational and postcolonial analysis of the many issues that are critical to the survival and success of women and girls. Presents a broad postcolonial feminist examination of the lives of women and girls worldwide through essays about the female experience in individual countries. Provides sidebars that highlight details about individual women and interesting topics that affect women and girls. Includes primary source documents that offer readers a direct look at important statements, laws, and policies about women and girls
Writing African American Women by
Call Number: PS153 .N5 W756 2006
Women have had a complex experience in African American culture. The first work of its kind, this encyclopedia approaches African American literature from a Women's Studies perspective. Included are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries on African American women writers, as well as on male writers who have treated women in their works. Entries on genres, periods, themes, characters, historical events, texts, places, and other topics are included as well. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and relates its subject to the overall experience of women in African American literature.