NOTE: desLibris is now called Canada Commons. Recommended browser: Google Chrome
Access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy agencies and think tanks, as well as books from 100 Canadian publishers. Includes over 8,000 titles from 47 Canadian publishers and Cambridge University Press, Oxford University Press, and Taylor & Francis. Covers subjects in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishes and university presses. Gain Unlimited Access to 201,500 E-Books Across Many Subjects
E-Books in the two collections above may also be accessed through Novanet.
This Grey House Canada online resource includes multiple databases and provides access to "tens of thousands of cultural and professional organizations, government offices, law firms, banks, health and education facilities, libraries, and the media ranging from magazines to broadcasters," and more.
Databases include: Associations Canada, Canadian Almanac & Directory, Canadian Environmental Resource Guide, Health Canada Guide, Canadian Parliamentary Guide, Libraries Canada, Financial Services Canada, Governments Canada, History of Canada, Major Canadian Cities, Careers & Employment Canada.
GVRL includes encyclopedias and other reference works in a variety of subject areas.
Titles include: Alternative Energy, American Decades, Encyclopedia of Religion, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, Novels for Students, Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, and more.
A collection of Oxford UP encyclopedias and companions.
The following titles are included:Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry, 2013;The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance, 2010;Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, 2nd ed., 2006;Oxford Companion to English Literature, 7th ed., 2009;Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History, 2013;Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (4 vols), 2005;Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (5 vols), 2006;Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and gender studies, 2014;Oxford companion to archaeology, 2nd ed., 2012;Oxford companion to food, 2nd ed., 2013;Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America, 2nd ed., 2013;Benezit dictionary of Asian artists, 2013;Oxford encyclopedia of South Asian Christianity, 2012;Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world, 2009;
The OED is the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of the language from 1150 AD to the present, with usage examples from many sources.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online provides access to Oxford's bilingual language dictionaries including French, German, and Spanish, with additional study materials.
Open Access E-Books and Texts
In addition to the e-books in the collections on this page, thousands more e-books and texts are freely accessible on the Web via open access collections and repositories.
