It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GVRL includes encyclopedias and other reference works in a variety of subject areas.
Titles include: Alternative Energy, American Decades, Encyclopedia of Religion, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, Novels for Students, Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, and more.
A collection of Oxford UP encyclopedias and companions.
The following titles are included:Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry, 2013;The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance, 2010;Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, 2nd ed., 2006;Oxford Companion to English Literature, 7th ed., 2009;Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History, 2013;Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (4 vols), 2005;Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (5 vols), 2006;Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and gender studies, 2014;Oxford companion to archaeology, 2nd ed., 2012;Oxford companion to food, 2nd ed., 2013;Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America, 2nd ed., 2013;Benezit dictionary of Asian artists, 2013;Oxford encyclopedia of South Asian Christianity, 2012;Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world, 2009;
Online Version of the Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada (DCB/DBC), Includes approximately 8,500 biographies describing "the lives of those whose deaths or whose last-known activities occurred in the years 1000 to 1930. Also included are entries on voyagers whose verifiable dates precede 1000 [...] and more than 70 biographies of individuals who died after 1930."