Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Find Information: News Sources on the Web

News Sources on the Web

Canadian News Sources

Canadian Newswire
Full-text news release site.

Canadian Press
"Canada’s multimedia news agency".

CBC News

The Dominion
"Canada's Grassroots National Newspaper."

Globe & Mail

Independentmedia.ca
A directory of non-corporate journalism in Canada. Created by MANA (the Media Alliance for New Activism).

National Observer
Focuses on "news and in-depth reports on under-covered Canadian stories in the area of climate, energy, business, culture and politics."

National Post

NB Media Co-op
Member-funder province-wide (New Brunswick) independent news website.

OnlineNewspapers' Canadian Newspapers
Links to large dailies, small weeklies, and community newspapers from all 10 provinces and 3 territories. Some links are dead or lead to sites not updated for a long time, but it's a source for community papers not listed elsewhere.

Rabble.ca
Features original journalism and links to "some of the few progressive voices in mainstream media." 

Sackville Tribune Post

* * *

Last updated March 2017. 

News Sources Worldwide

Aljazeera.net English
English language version of the Arab news site

Alternative Press Center Directory of Periodicals
Links to journals covered by the Alternative Press Index, where a web site exists

BBC News (UK)

The Guardian (UK)

Independent (UK)

Independent Media Center
A network of "collectively run media outlets for the creation of radical, accurate, and passionate tellings of the truth."

Inter Press Service
IPS provides international news with a emphasis on civil society, globalization and development. Their mission is "acting as a communication channel that privileges the voices and the concerns of the poorest and creates a climate of understanding, accountability and participation around development, promoting a new international information order between the South and the North."

NewsNow.co.uk
UK news portal monitoring news sources from around the world.

Reporters Without Borders/Reporters Sans Frontière
Organization devoted to freedom of the press

Today's Front Pages
Images of the front pages of over 850 newspapers from around the world. Papers are predominantly from the US but there is reasonable coverage from Europe, and many papers from Brazil.

TV News Archive
The Internet Archive's TV News Archive contains more than 1,439,000 news programs (as of Oct. 2017) collected over 4+ years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. Updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added. For more information, see About the TV News Archive

* * *

Last updated March 2017. 

 

News Search Engines

Blinkx
A video search engine covering news sources (and more).

Google News Canada

Independent Media Center
A network of "collectively run media outlets for the creation of radical, accurate, and passionate tellings of the truth."

RocketNews
Covers the latest news in "market news, financial news, business news, science news, health news, technology news, world and international news, sports news, celebrity news, and online news."

Yahoo News

World News
A multilingual, international news search engine.

* * *

Note: Revisions pending.  Last updated 10 January 2013. 

Loading