Mount A Libraries: Find Information: Online Reference

Online Reference

Digital Reference Collections

Reference E-books

The Library provides access to two digital reference collections and digital versions of Oxford dictionaries:

Canada's Information Resource Centre (CIRC) (All) This link opens in a new window
This Grey House Canada online resource includes multiple databases and provides access to "tens of thousands of cultural and professional organizations, government offices, law firms, banks, health and education facilities, libraries, and the media ranging from magazines to broadcasters," and more.
Databases include: Associations Canada, Canadian Almanac & Directory, Canadian Environmental Resource Guide, Health Canada Guide, Canadian Parliamentary Guide, Libraries Canada, Financial Services Canada, Governments Canada, History of Canada, Major Canadian Cities, Careers & Employment Canada.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
GVRL includes encyclopedias and other reference works in a variety of subject areas.
Titles include: Alternative Energy, American Decades, Encyclopedia of Religion, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, Novels for Students, Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film, Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, and more.
Oxford Reference E-Books This link opens in a new window
A collection of Oxford UP encyclopedias and companions.
The following titles are included:Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry, 2013;The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance, 2010;Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, 2nd ed., 2006;Oxford Companion to English Literature, 7th ed., 2009;Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History, 2013;Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature (4 vols), 2005;Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature (5 vols), 2006;Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and gender studies, 2014;Oxford companion to archaeology, 2nd ed., 2012;Oxford companion to food, 2nd ed., 2013;Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America, 2nd ed., 2013;Benezit dictionary of Asian artists, 2013;Oxford encyclopedia of South Asian Christianity, 2012;Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world, 2009;
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online provides access to Oxford's bilingual language dictionaries including French, German, and Spanish, with additional study materials.

Online Reference Sources

The online reference sources listed on these pages (see menu at left) complement the resources available in the library's print and digital collections.

About Library Reference Collections

Library Reference Collections: Print and Online

The Library maintains an extensive and continuously updated collection of print reference materials, including subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories. This material is accessible via Novanet and many discipline-specific titles may be accessed via the library Subject Guides.

Locations for Print Reference Materials

Newer and frequently used resources are located on the main floor of the R.P. Library; additional reference material is located on the basement level.

Reference material for Music is located in the Music Library.

Find Information: Online Reference