Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Countries, Cities & Maps
Country Studies (U.S. Library of Congress)
"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (U.S. Department of State)
Brief summaries on U.S. diplomatic and trade relationships, with links to additional information, primarily from U.S. government sources.
CIA World Factbook
Brief facts including social, political, economic, historical, etc.
Single entry point for searching and downloading a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. Includes links to individual country data services.
[Archived] OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
Website was decommissioned in 2017.
Official sources for social, economic, and general statistical data from countries around the world. Provided by the University of Auckland Library.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Data Base
Demographic and socio-economic statistics for countries and regions with a population of 5,000 or more.
City Maps & Directions
Street-level maps and route directions for most countries. Street and satellite views are also available for many areas.
Street maps, directions, satellite images, etc. for most of the world. Also provides live traffic information and maps services (hotels, airports, restaurants, shopping, etc.) for some areas; coverage is most complete in US and Canada.
Atlas of Canada (Natural Resources Canada)
Includes topographical maps, themes maps, etc. and related information.
[Archived] About.com Geography
Includes links to many kinds of maps, including blank and outline maps for printing. Also provides a section on using and understanding maps.
Provides access to over 1 million U.S. topographical maps and photos of landmarks in the United States. Data sources include the U.S. Board on Geographic Names, National Weather Service, U.S. Census Bureau, NASA, and Google.
United Nations Cartographic Section
General and thematic maps from around the world.
U.S. Census Bureau: Geography
Entry point for many kinds of geographic, demographic, and economic data gathered by the United States Census Bureau; includes many varieties of current and historical maps.
Natural Resources Canada: Earth Sciences Tools and Applications
Links to many tools such as land surveys, geochemical surveys, and the BASIN database ("...geological, geophysical and engineering information related to many years of petroleum exploration, primarily offshore northern and eastern Canada.")
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
In addition to information about their own extensive collection of maps, this page provides links to many online maps of current and general interest.
See also Government Information for more links to government mapping and geospatial data.