Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Language Dictionaries and Thesauri
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The OED is the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of the language from 1150 AD to the present, with usage examples from many sources. Includes the full text of the 20-volume 2nd edition, the 3-volume Additions Series, and is updated quarterly with revisions and new terms.
Note: Off-campus access to OED is restricted to authorized Mount Allison users.
Collins English Dictionary Online
Free dictionary and thesaurus by HarperCollins. (Not equivalent to print.)
A multi-source dictionary with content from Random House, Webster's, American Heritage Dictionary, Collins, and others.
Dictionary and thesaurus available.
OneLook Dictionaries, the faster finder
Searches over a hundred general and subject-specific dictionaries.
French Language and French-English Dictionaries
Note: Off-campus access to OLDO is restricted to authorized Mount Allison users.
See also: French Language and Literature Subject Guide lists of additional French and French-English dictionaries available in print and onilne.
Foreign Language Dictionaries
Links to over 500 language dictionaries and about 400 subject-specific dictionaries.
Collins Bilingual Dictionaries
Languages paired with English include French, German, Spanish, and others. Content not identical to print versions.
IATE (Inter-Active Terminology for Europe)
The European Union's terminology database.
Linguee Bilingual Dictionaries
Linguee provides definitions and pronunciations, and example sentences from selected, reliable translation sources. Languages paired with English include French, German, Spanish, Japanese and more.
A large collection of mono-, bi- and multilingual dictionaries and dictionary meta sites. It can be browsed by language, linguistic subfield and language family.
LOGOS Multilingual Dictionary
Search by word to get equivalents in over 30 languages with examples of usage from classical works of literature.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO)
Oxford's bilingual language dictionaries including French, German, and Spanish, with additional study materials.
Note: Off-campus access restricted to authorized Mount Allison users.
A tool for conjugating verbs in many languages.
A meta-site pointing to 100's of dictionaries in over 100 languages. Includes some industry-specific glossaries.
See Also: Mount Allison University Libraries' Subject Guides for links to French, German, Spanish, and Japanese language dictionaries.
A large dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms.
A searchable database of definitions for more than 750,000 abbreviations, acronyms and initialisms.
American Sign Language Browser
An online ASL dictionary that allows you to see a QuickTime video of each word being signed. By Michigan State University.
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
Based on the 1898 ed., defines and gives the origin of "interesting" words & phrases, mythological references, fictitious characters, etc.
A Compendious Anglo-Saxon and English Dictionary
By Joseph Bosworth, published: London: John Russell Smith, 1848.
Dictionary of Canadianisms on Historical Principles
An historical dictionary, this work shows changes in the meanings of words over time, using dated quotations to illustrate these shifts.
Middle English Compendium
Combines the Middle English Dictionary, HyperBibliography of Middle English sources used in the dictionary, and the Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse (146 texts).
OneLook Reverse Dictionary
Enter a concept or definition (e.g. urge to travel, or green fruit) to get a list of words related to the concept.
By Open Knowledge Foundation Deutschland. A collection of useful words and phrases for newly arrived refugees. Content in 30-plus languages provided by volunteers.
Signing Savvy is a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs used within the United States and Canada.
Looking for a subject-specific dictionary?
The Library Subject Guides list additional discipline-specific dictionaires available in print and online.