Skip to main content
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Find Information: Articles & Journals

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music & more.

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Searching for a particular book by title or author?  Try Browse searching.

Novanet searches many but not all library databases (details). Databases not included in Novanet can be accessed from the A-Z List of databases.

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search only for books. 

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Searching for a particular book by title or author?  Try Browse searching. 

Switch to: Novanet Classic (aka the Library Catalogue)

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search only for articles.

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Novanet searches most but not all library databases (details). Databases not included in Novanet can be accessed from the A-Z List of databases.

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Searching for Articles

Novanet and the A - Z List of Databases

Novanet searches most but not all library databases.  In addition, Novanet does not search the full text of articles, and certain database search features and functionality are not available in Novanet. 

For these reasons, searching individual databases in addition or instead of Novanet may be the best option in some cases.  For more information, please see Which Search Tool Should I Use?

All library databases are listed in the A-Z List of Databases.  Browse the list by subject to find the databases most suitable to your topic.

 

 

On-campus Access:

All databases are accessible on campus to all library patrons. No user name or password is required.

Off-campus Access:

All licensed databases are accessible off-campus to authorized Mount Allison patrons (students, faculty and staff). A Mount Allison user name and password is required. Freely available (open access) databases are available to all patrons on or off campus.

Articles, Reviews and More:

While a majority of library databases allow you to search for and access articles, many provide access to other types of material, including primary sources, audio and video streaming, and professional standards.  Use the drop-down "database type" menu to browse the various types of library databases. 

Search Tips

Please note: The How to Search for Articles and How to Find Articles on Your Topic guides will soon be updated with tips for searching using Novanet. 

The following guides provide tips to help you search effectively for the information you need:

More Research Guides and Search Tips

Additioanal guides designed to help you search for and evaluation information can be found on the Research Tips page. 

Off-Campus Access to Electronic Resources

Why is off-campus access different?

Access to subscribed library resources is easy when you are using a university computer or the campus wireless network. The library gives publishers information about our campus networks when we set up a subscription for the university. When you are off-campus, you need to log in to your account to identify yourself as associated with Mount Allison University. This is required by the terms of the licenses we sign with publishers.

How can I get access off-campus?

There are two approaches to getting access to electronic resources from off-campus.

1. Start from the library website or catalogue:

If you click on a link from the library website, such as a database in the A-Z List of Databases, you will be asked to log in with your MTA account. From that point on, your access will be the same as it is on campus.

2. Start from a publisher website and use the MTA Libraries Off-Campus Bookmarklet

If you usually start your search from a publisher website, or click on non-library links, you can use the off-campus bookmarklet to sign into your MTA account. Follow the instructions for installing the bookmarklet below. Once it is installed, you click on the bookmarklet to get to a sign-in screen when you are visiting a publisher website. You will be returned to the website and at that point your access will be the same as it is on campus.

Install the off-campus bookmarklet:

Note: You will have to set your browser to show the bookmarks or favourites if that is not your default setting. Bookmarklets are bookmarks that contain JavaScript commands, so JavaScript must be supported for the bookmarklet to function.

How to use the MTA Libraries Off-Campus Bookmarklet:

Click on the bookmarklet when you are at the website for a licensed academic resource for which the Libraries has paid. Every time you open a new tab, click on the bookmarklet. You won't have to log in on every tab - clicking on the bookmarklet again just extends your login session to the new tab.

If Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives does not license and pay for the content on the site, you will get an error message. This message means that the website is not set up as a MTA library resource. In those cases, requesting the item through ILL (if there is a cost) or browsing without the bookmarklet (if freely available) is the best approach.

If you have any questions about the MTA Libraries Off-Campus Bookmarklet, please contact Elizabeth Stregger, Data and Digital Services Librarian.

Open Access Journal Articles

An increasing number of scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are freely available in open-access journals.

For more information, visit the Library's Open Access Collections page.