Mount A Libraries: Music Subject Guide: MUSC 3281: The Beatles

Reference Sources

The Beatles Encyclopedia: Everything Fab Four by Kenneth Womack
Call Number: ML421 .B4 W67 2014 V.1-2 Music Library REF / eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The Beatles Encyclopedia by Bill Harry
Call Number: ML 421 .B4 H45 2000 Music Library REF
Publication Date: 2000
The Beatles Complete Discography by Jeff Russell
Call Number: ML 421 .B4 R87 2006 Music Library REF
Publication Date: 2006
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2006
American Decades, 1960-1969 by Matthew J. Bruccoli; Richard Layman
Call Number: E 169.12 .A419 1994 R.P Bell REF / eBook
Publication Date: 1994

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, the Oxford Companion to Music, and Grove Music Online. Grove is the most comprehensive source of the three, and may be easier to search on its own for some topics. To do so, use the Grove Music Online link in the A-Z list.

Popular Music History
Original historical & historiographical research that draws on the wide range of disciplines & intellectual trajectories that have contributed to the establishment of popular music studies as a recognized academic enterprise.
Popular Music and Society
Popular Music and Society publishes articles, book reviews, and audio reviews on popular music of any genre, time period, or geographic location.
Action, Criticism, and Theory for Music Education
ACT is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal. It provides critically-informed scholarship from a broad range of disciplinary perspectives.
Journal of the American Musicological Society
the Journal of the American Musicological Society welcomes topics from all fields of musical inquiry, including historical musicology, critical theory, music analysis, iconography and organology, performance practice, and more.

All the Songs: The Story Behind Every Beatles Release by Philippe Margotin; Jean-Michel Guesdon
Call Number: ML 421 .B4 G84 2013 Music Library
Publication Date: 2013
The Beatles Lyrics by Beatles Staff (Performed by)
Call Number: ML 54.6 .B4 B43 1996z Music Library
Publication Date: 1992
The Beatles As Musicians: Revolver through the Anthology by Walter Everett
Call Number: MT 146 .E94 1999 Music Library
Publication Date: 1999
The Beatles As Musicians: The Quarry Men through Rubber Soul by Walter Everett
Call Number: MT146 .E95 2001 ebook; paper copy also available in Music Library
Publication Date: 2001
The Cambridge Companion to the Beatles by Kenneth Womack (Editor)
Call Number: ML 421 .B4 C33 2009 Music Library
Publication Date: 2009
The Day John Met Paul by Jim O'Donnell
Call Number: ML 420 .L45 O55 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Please Please Me by Gordon Ross Thompson; Gordon Thompson
Call Number: ML 3492 .T56 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Tomorrow Never Knows by Nick Bromell
Call Number: HN 59 .B76 2002 Music Library
Publication Date: 2002

1964: The Beatles Conquer North America
CBC Film Clip from the CBC Digital Archives, 1955.
Beatles Archive
Posts can be searched by date posted, or at the bottom of the page by format.
The Beatles on British Pathé
Dozens of news clips of the Beatles via British Pathé, one of the largest archives of newsreels in the world.
The Beatles Bible
The Beatles Bible is an online repository of information on The Beatles from a range of sources.