Music Subject Guide: Voice studio resource guide

Drawing generously from four centuries of Italian, German and French art song, Exploring Art Song Lyrics embraces the finest of the literature and presents the repertoire with unprecedented clarity and detail. Each of the over 750 selections comprises the original poem, a concise Englishtranslation, and an IPA transcription, accounting for any unusual musical setting and idiomatic phrasings throughout.Enunciation and transcription charts are included for each language on a single, easy to read page, along with innovative and useful guidelines for transcribing Italian, German and French lyrics. With its wide ranging scope of repertoire, and invaluable tools for interpretation and performance,Exploring Art Song Lyrics is an essential resource for the professional singer, voice teacher, and student.

Parish Boundaries chronicles the history of Catholic parishes in major cities such as Boston, Chicago, Detroit, New York, and Philadelphia, melding their unique place in the urban landscape to the course of twentieth century American race relations. In vivid portraits of parish life, John McGreevy examines the contacts and conflicts between Euro-American Catholics and their African-American neighbors. By tracing the transformation of a church, its people, and the nation, McGreevy illuminates the enormous impact of religious culture on modern American society. "Parish Boundaries can take its place in the front ranks of the literature of urban race relations."—Jonathan Dorfman, Washington Post Book Review "A prodigiously researched, gracefully written book distinguished especially by its seamless treatment of social and intellectual history."—Robert Orsi, American Historical Review "Parish Boundaries will fascinate historians and anyone interested in the historic connection between parish and race."—Ed Marciniak, Chicago Tribune "The history that remains to be written will rest on the firm foundation of Mr. McGreevy's remarkable book."—Richard Wightman Fox, New York Times Book Review

"No voice teacher, no coach, no accompanist, no singer, and for that matter, no music-lover should be without this publication . . . from a man whose knowledge of this repertoire is so complete and profound as to make his treatment of it definitive and without equal." This is the standard work on its subject, and its author the outstanding authority. Pierre Bernac had a long and distinguished career as a singer, specializing in the French song (or mélodie) repertoire. For many years he was incomparable partnered by Francis Poulenc, one of the composers discussed in this book. M. Bernac later taught and gave master classes in Europe and the United States. He died in 1979. Among eighteen composers whose vocal works are covered in the book are Berlioz, Gounod, Duparc, Chausson, Fauré, Debussy, Satie, Ravel--as well as Poulenc and others. The greater part of each composer's output in the genre is discussed: texts of nearly 200 songs are given in French, with line-for-line verse translations by Winifred Radford, notes on pronunciation, and simple but detailed suggestion for performance and interpretation. Preceding these sections on the songs themselves are three most important chapters on performance and interpretation in vocal music, on singing in French, and on the particular problems involved in the interpretation of French mélodies. This is the book every serious singer needs--and, more and more, singers are "discovering" French song. It is also an invaluable guide for the concert-goer and record collector.

Authentic pronunciation of 413 Italian, German, and French lyrics from "The singer's repertoire" in international phonetic alphabet transcription

This three-volume boxed set is the definitive work on Franz Schubert's vocal music with piano.  A richly illustrated encyclopedia, these substantial volumes contain more than seven hundred song commentaries with parallel text and translations (by Richard Wigmore), detailed annotations on the songs' poetic sources, and biographies of one hundred and twenty poets, as well as general articles on accompaniment, tonality, transcriptions, singers, and more.

This fourth edition of Art Song in the United States, 1759-2011 covers songs for solo voice and piano by American composers from the mid-18th through the early 21st centuries. The book is structured as an annotated bibliography with approximately 2,850 numbered entries listed alphabetically by composer and title and indexed in various ways to help teachers and singers locate the particular song they require for practice or performance. This edition adds eleven years' worth of new works, anthologies, and collections (about 450 new entries), reflecting the relatively recent outpouring of song compositions by American composers and a wealth of new song anthologies and collections. This bibliography features information on each song or song cycle or set. Users will find critical data on the poet, publisher and copyright date, key, vocal range, vocal tessitura, meter(s), tempo, length, difficulty of vocal line and piano score, most suitable voice type, mood and subject of the text, and brief description of the vocal line and piano score. It also includes commentary on special difficulties for performers and possible uses of the song in programming. In addition, individual titles of composite works are given, and those that appear in collections are indexed to the list of collections in the front matter. Composer, poet, special characteristics/subject, and title indexes--and even discographic lists recordings where available--all aid researchers in finding songs. The primary audiences for this bibliography are voice teachers and singers in search of appropriate art songs for their students or themselves, as well as libraries with collecting interests in music and American literature.

A reference guide to the vast array of art song literature and composers from Latin America, this book introduces the music of Latin America from a singer's perspective and provides a basis for research into the songs of this richly musical area of the world. The book is divided by country into 22 chapters, with each chapter containing an introductory essay on the music of the region, a catalog of art songs for that country, and a list of publishers. Some chapters include information on additional sources. Singers and teachers may use descriptive annotations (language, poet) or pedagogical annotations (range, tessitura) to determine which pieces are appropriate for their voices or programming needs, or those of their students. The guide will be a valuable resource for vocalists and researchers, however familiar they may be with this glorious repertoire.

Solo Vocal Works on Jewish Themes: A Bibliography of Jewish Composers is a comprehensive and annotated compendium of stage, concert, and liturgical compositions written by Jewish composers from every known time period and country. Kenneth Jaffe has amassed nearly 3,000 large-scale musical works for solo voice(s) on Jewish themes, written by Jewish composers. The works include over 400 cantatas, 150 oratorios, almost 300 operas, more than 100 sacred services, 20 symphonies, and more than 350 stage works, including Yiddish theatre, Purim and sacred plays, multi-media pieces, and musical theatre. In addition, original song cycles and liturgical services arranged for a modest to large complement of instruments are also included.The works are organized by composer and subdivided by genre, and each entry is fully annotated, detailing the title, opus, voicing and instrumentation, text source, commission, year completed, year and location of the premiere, the year of publication and the publisher (if any), the location of scores, and the duration of the work. The works are then broken down by theme, such as Biblical themes, works for children, works of the Holocaust or Jewish suffering and persecution, interfaith works, and wedding music. They are then cross-referenced by voice type, arrangement, and by title. A list of libraries and publishing houses of Jewish music rounds out this invaluable reference.

There have been very few books written directly by prominent recitalists that provide audiences with an authoritative, inspired guide to the interpretation and appreciation of French melodie. In this translation of the groundbreaking Le Chant Intime, internationally renowned baritone FrancoisLe Roux, in conversation with journalist Romain Reynaldy, presents a master class on French art song, with a thorough analysis of 60 selected songs that deviate from the traditionally narrow repertoire of the melodie genre.Taking an approach that goes far beyond the typical limiting conventions, Le Roux and Raynaldy adhere to composer Francis Poulenc's principle that a song should always be "a love affair, not an arranged marriage." Neither theoretical nor purely academic, this guide instills in its readers a deepappreciation for the historical and artistic context of each piece by enriching each analysis with the full text of the lyrical poem and several musical examples, as well as fascinating details of historic premieres, concert halls, singers and poets. Paired with intensive and practical notes relatedto the nuances of melody and vocal delivery, each analysis provides an essential reference for performers and listeners alike.

As the title suggests, More Than Singing concerns not only music and proper vocal techniques but also life and the transcendent power of art. Lotte Lehmann was among the most eminent lyric-dramatic sopranos of the early twentieth century, especially noted for her passionate and sensitive renderings of lieder. In this guide she distills a lifetime of work, research, and experience into concise, revealing lessons in the interpretation of songs by Schubert, Brahms, Schumann, Haydn, Beethoven, Strauss, Mahler, Debussy, and other masters.

Focusing on the music of the great song composers--Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Wolf, and Strauss--Poetry Into Song offers a systematic introduction to the performance and analysis of Lieder. Part I, "The Language of Poetry," provides chapters on the themes and imagery of German Romanticism andthe methods of analysis for German Romantic poetry. Part II, "The Language of the Performer," deals with issues of concern to performers: texture, temporality, articulation, and interpretation of notation and unusual rhythm accents and stresses. Part III provides clearly defined analyticalprocedures for each of four main chapters on harmony and tonality, melody and motive, rhythm and meter, and form. The concluding chapter compares different settings of the same text, and the volume ends with several appendices that offer text translations, over 40 pages of less accessible songscores, a glossary of technical terms, and a substantial bibliography. Directing the book towards students in both voice and theory, and toward all singers, the authors establish a framework for the analysis of song based on a process of performing, listening, analyzing, and performing again,designed to give the reader a new understanding of the reciprocal interaction between performance and analysis. Emphasizing the masterworks, the volume features numerous poetic texts, as well as a core repertory of songs. Examples throughout the text demonstrate points, while end-of-chapterquestions reinforce concepts and provide opportunities for directed analysis. While there are a variety of books on Lieder and on German Romantic poetry, none combines performance, musical analysis, textual analysis, and the interrelation between poetry and music in the systematic, thorough way ofPoetry Into Song.

"No voice teacher, no coach, no accompanist, no singer, and for that matter, no music-lover should be without this publication . . . from a man whose knowledge of this repertoire is so complete and profound as to make his treatment of it definitive and without equal." This is the standard work on its subject, and its author the outstanding authority. Pierre Bernac had a long and distinguished career as a singer, specializing in the French song (or mélodie) repertoire. For many years he was incomparable partnered by Francis Poulenc, one of the composers discussed in this book. M. Bernac later taught and gave master classes in Europe and the United States. He died in 1979. Among eighteen composers whose vocal works are covered in the book are Berlioz, Gounod, Duparc, Chausson, Fauré, Debussy, Satie, Ravel--as well as Poulenc and others. The greater part of each composer's output in the genre is discussed: texts of nearly 200 songs are given in French, with line-for-line verse translations by Winifred Radford, notes on pronunciation, and simple but detailed suggestion for performance and interpretation. Preceding these sections on the songs themselves are three most important chapters on performance and interpretation in vocal music, on singing in French, and on the particular problems involved in the interpretation of French mélodies. This is the book every serious singer needs--and, more and more, singers are "discovering" French song. It is also an invaluable guide for the concert-goer and record collector.

Written by acclaimed soprano Lotte Lehmann, this book offers analysis of 18 of the most famous song cycles by composers like Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Wagner, Wolf, Mahler, Strauss, Berlioz, Ravel, and Debussy.

The book presents imaginative advice and practical techniques for producing successful recitals and kindling audience excitement. Every aspect of the recital is covered, from building programs and the use of acting skills to the relationship between the singer and the accompanist. Singers of all levels and backgrounds will benefit from the authors vast experience in the performance of song recitals as a singer/accompanist team. The comprehensive repertoire lists, now organized by voice and instrumentation as well as by composer, appeal to both students and professional musicians. Readers will agree that the authors have met their goal of providing "extensive, throughgoing, and definitive insights into the attributes that can render the song recital at once a great art and a magnificent entertainment."

I like these songs better than all the rest, and someday you will too, Franz Schubert told the friends who were the first to hear his song cycle, Winterreise. These lieder have always found admiring audiences, but the poetry he chose to set them to has been widely regarded as weak and trivial. In Retracing a Winter's Journey, Susan Youens looks not only at Schubert's music but at the poetry, drawn from the works of Wilhelm Müller, who once wrote in his diary, "perhaps there is a kindred spirit somewhere who will hear the tunes behind the words and give them back to me!" Youens maintains that Müller, in depicting the wanderings of the alienated lover, produced poetry that was simple but not simple-minded, poetry that embraced simplicity as part of its meaning. In her view, Müller used the ruder folk forms to give his verse greater immediacy, to convey more powerfully the wanderer's complex inner state. Youens addresses many different aspects of Winterreise: the cultural milieu to which it belonged, the genesis of both the poetry and the music, Schubert's transformation of poetic cycle into music, the philosophical dimension of the work, and its musical structure.

This book offers analysis of the music and poetry of art song from various composers, including Mozart, Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Wolf, Strauss, Duparc, Debussy, Fauré, Auric, and Copland.

Singing Schumann is likely to become the standard introduction to some of the best-loved songs in the singer's repertoire. Written by a distinguished performer and internationally known teacher, the book offers astute, practical advice for bringing Robert Schumann's Lieder to life inperformance.Richard Miller guides the reader through the interpretation of all of Schumann's solo and duet songs, drawing thoroughly on Schumann's compositional style and its historical background. In addition to covering the "familiar forty"--the much-performed songs Schumann composed in and around 1840 whiletrying to win the hand of Clara Wieck--Miller takes an in-depth look at the lesser known early and later songs. In particular, he focuses on the rich and varied repertoire of Schumann's later years, challenging the conventional view that these works reflect a decline in the composer's creativepowers.Singing Schumann begins with an overview of Schumann as a song composer and then proceeds to survey the entire repertoire, song by song. It features the well-known cycles, including the Eichendorff Liederkreis, Frauenliebe und -leben, and Dichterliebe, as well as the Liederalbum fur die Jugend andsettings of texts by Goethe, Burns, Ruckert, and Kulmann. Using numerous musical examples, Miller uncovers Schumann's characteristic compositional devices and describes his novel and experimental approaches to the interpretation of texts, often achieved through exceptionally colorful keyboardaccompaniments.Musically sensitive and eminently readable, Singing Schumann is an invaluable guide for teachers, coaches, pianists, and singers.

Lucien Stark analyzes in detail more than 200 solo songs by Brahms and gives us translations of the texts. For performers, students, and teachers, this is a treasure-house of information and insight about a rich and varied repertoire.