Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Databases for Philosophy
Novanet allows you to search for articles across many but not all library databases. Certain key databases, including Philosopher's Index, are not searchable using Novanet.
Novanet can be a good place to start searching for articles on some topics but it does not replace searching individual library databases.
Key databses for Philosophy include:
"Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers." Includes journal articles, books, personal papers, and open access archives.
Index to journals and books on philosophy and related interdisciplinary publications in various languages. Provides links to some full-text content.
ProQuest (All Databases)
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously: ABI, Canadian Research Index, CBCA, Periodicals Archive Online, the Politics Collection (PAIS, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, Worldwide Political Abstracts), Philosopher's Index, ProQuest Central, Research Library, and the Historical Newspapers collections of the Globe & Mail (1844-2013) and Toronto Star (1894-2015).
Past Masters (InteLex)
Presents full-text editions, in both original language and English translation, of the works of seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences.
Already got a citation for an article and you want to find it at the library?
Use Journal Finder to search for the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper.
Journal Finder will direct you to the database in which a journal is available in digital format.