Philosophy Subject Guide: Reference Sources

"Over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length. [Includes coverage of] the core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions; the usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy; and the philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America."

"Comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts - from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture. [Includes] in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions and theories of art."

"Retaining the original focus on ethical theory, this 2nd edition includes biographical articles, entries on areas and issues related to ethics, treatment of major traditions in religious ethics, coverage of applied ethical issues of importance to theory, survey articles on the history of ethics, and information on the current status of philosophical ethics world wide."

Includes "more than 350 signed entries covering topics central to the philosophical and historical period of the Enlightenment, from its beginnings in the late seventeenth century through to its final stages in the mid-nineteenth century. Developments in art, economics, history, philosophy, and religion, as well as in technical and scientific fields, are covered."

"Does the existence of evil call into doubt the existence of God? Show me the argument. Philosophy starts with questions, but attempts at answers are just as important, and these answers require reasoned argument. Cutting through dense philosophical prose, 100 famous and influential arguments are presented in their essence, with premises, conclusions and logical form plainly identified."

"Includes a section of detailed review essays by renowned scholars in the field of metaphysics, as well as encyclopedic entries on relevant terms and concepts."

"Introduces the central concepts of the field in a series of brief, non-technical, cross-referenced dictionary entries. Entries can be found on deductive systems, such as propositional logic, modal logic, deontic logic, temporal logic, set theory, many-valued logic, mereology, and paraconsistent logic. Similarly, there are entries on topics relating to those previously mentioned such as negation, conditionals, truth tables, and proofs. Historical periods and figures are also covered, including ancient logic, medieval logic, Buddhist logic, Aristotle, Ockham, Boole, Frege, Russell, Godel, and Quine. There are even entries relating logic to other areas and topics, like biology, computers, ethics, gender, God, psychology, metaphysics, abstract entities, algorithms, the ad hominem fallacy, inductive logic, informal logic, the liar paradox, metalogic, philosophy of logic, and software for learning logic."

"This book presents the trends in beliefs and values of people in 85 countries around the world from 1981 to 2004. Based on survey data collected in 1981-1984 and 1989-1993 by the European Values Study, the 1995-1997 World Values Surveys and the 1999-2004 European Values Study and World Values Surveys, it examines trends in human values concerning economics, politics, religion, family, gender roles, civic engagement and ethical concerns and important contemporary issues such as the environment, technology, identity, life satisfaction and human happiness."

Provides detailed accounts of the lives, works, influence and reception of thinkers from all the major philosophical schools and traditions of the twentieth-century.

The Companion is divided into six sections covering the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section contains a collection of chapters which provide comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. The chapters also contain histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as analysis of the current trends.

"Includes a section of detailed review essays by renowned scholars in the field of metaphysics, as well as encyclopedic entries on relevant terms and concepts."

"This book presents the trends in beliefs and values of people in 85 countries around the world from 1981 to 2004. Based on survey data collected in 1981-1984 and 1989-1993 by the European Values Study, the 1995-1997 World Values Surveys and the 1999-2004 European Values Study and World Values Surveys, it examines trends in human values concerning economics, politics, religion, family, gender roles, civic engagement and ethical concerns and important contemporary issues such as the environment, technology, identity, life satisfaction and human happiness."

Covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy.

"Comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts - from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture. [Includes] in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions and theories of art."

Incorporating cultural and religious contexts, this work provides a guide to the main concepts and thinkers in Asian philosophy - starting with Abhidharma and ending with Zurvan. The main philosophical trends and thinkers in each geographical area are featured, with an emphasis on contemporary developments and movements.

"Retaining the original focus on ethical theory, this 2nd edition includes biographical articles, entries on areas and issues related to ethics, treatment of major traditions in religious ethics, coverage of applied ethical issues of importance to theory, survey articles on the history of ethics, and information on the current status of philosophical ethics world wide."

Provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of academic disciplines, critical terms and central figures relating to the vast field of postmodern studies.

Includes "more than 350 signed entries covering topics central to the philosophical and historical period of the Enlightenment, from its beginnings in the late seventeenth century through to its final stages in the mid-nineteenth century. Developments in art, economics, history, philosophy, and religion, as well as in technical and scientific fields, are covered."

Presents analysis of the work of fifty major thinkers in the field of Eastern philosophy, from early times to the present day. Includes glossary of key terms.

"Introduces the central concepts of the field in a series of brief, non-technical, cross-referenced dictionary entries. Entries can be found on deductive systems, such as propositional logic, modal logic, deontic logic, temporal logic, set theory, many-valued logic, mereology, and paraconsistent logic. Similarly, there are entries on topics relating to those previously mentioned such as negation, conditionals, truth tables, and proofs. Historical periods and figures are also covered, including ancient logic, medieval logic, Buddhist logic, Aristotle, Ockham, Boole, Frege, Russell, Godel, and Quine. There are even entries relating logic to other areas and topics, like biology, computers, ethics, gender, God, psychology, metaphysics, abstract entities, algorithms, the ad hominem fallacy, inductive logic, informal logic, the liar paradox, metalogic, philosophy of logic, and software for learning logic."

"Does the existence of evil call into doubt the existence of God? Show me the argument. Philosophy starts with questions, but attempts at answers are just as important, and these answers require reasoned argument. Cutting through dense philosophical prose, 100 famous and influential arguments are presented in their essence, with premises, conclusions and logical form plainly identified."

Extensive glossary of the main terms and concepts used in Eastern philosophy; includes definitions of philosophical ideas linked to the national traditions of Persia, India, the Islamic world, China, Japan, and Tibet, including concepts from Zoroastrianism, Hinduism, Sufism, Islam, Confucianism, Shintoism, Taoism, and Buddhism.

Broad coverage of philosophy past and present, for readers at all levels. Includes articles on ideas, disputes, and key figures living and dead.

"Over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length. [Includes coverage of] the core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions; the usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy; and the philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America."

Presents the best of the 10-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy in a single volume. Covers the major philosophers and philosophical topics, and includes some new and updated material.