Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this Guide
This guide is designed to help you find resources and research assistance for topics in Philosophy.
Key Databases for Philosophy
Novanet allows you to search for articles across many but not all library databases. Certain key databases, including Philosopher's Index, are not searchable using Novanet.
Novanet can be a good place to start searching for articles on some topics but it does not replace searching individual library databases.
Key databses for Philosophy include:
"Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers." Includes journal articles, books, personal papers, and open access archives.
Index to journals and books on philosophy and related interdisciplinary publications in various languages. Provides links to some full-text content.
ProQuest (All Databases)
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously: ABI, Canadian Research Index, CBCA, Periodicals Archive Online, the Politics Collection (PAIS, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, Worldwide Political Abstracts), Philosopher's Index, ProQuest Central, Research Library, and the Historical Newspapers collections of the Globe & Mail (1844-2013) and Toronto Star (1894-2015).
Past Masters (InteLex)
Presents full-text editions, in both original language and English translation, of the works of seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences.
Questions? Ask a librarian.
Just a few titles recently added to our collections:
Confucianism and the Philosophy of Well-Being by "This book develops a Confucian account of well-being, considering contemporary accounts of ethics and virtue in light of early Confucian thought and philosophy. Its distinctive approach lies in the integration of Confucian moral philosophy, contemporary empirical psychology, and contemporary philosophical accounts of well-being."
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: Routledge, 2020
Aesthetics: The Classic Readings by "The second edition of this bestselling anthology collects essays of canonical significance in aesthetics and the philosophy of art, featuring a wide range of topics from the nature of beauty and the criteria for aesthetic judgement to the value of art and the appreciation of nature."
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: Wiley, 2019
Wish I Were Here: Boredom and the Interface by "Offering a timely meditation on the profound effects of constant immersion in technology, also known as the Interface, Wish I Were Here draws on philosophical analysis of boredom and happiness to examine the pressing issues of screen addiction and the lure of online outrage."
Call Number: E-Book (also available in print: T 14 .K47 2019)
Publication Date: McGill-Queen's UP, 2019
To find more e-books, search Novanet and e-book collections listed on the library's E-books page.