Mount A Libraries: Drama Subject Guide: Welcome

Quick Links

About this Guide

This guide is designed to help you find information and resources for Drama and Theatre Studies.

Related Guides:

Key Databases for Drama and Theatre Studies

A new version of Novanet was launched on May 17, 2022.

Novanet now searches all databases but Novanet search results may sometimes differ from search results in individual library database. For example, certain databases offer search features and options not available in Novanet.

Novanet can be a good place to start searching for articles on some topics but it does not replace searching individual library databases.

Key Databases for Scholarly Publications:

MLA (Modern Language Assocation) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly research in several languages covering topics in language, literature, linguistics, folklore and film. Includes citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers as well as series, proceedings, theses.
Years Indexed: 1920s - present
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Index to Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.
Years Indexed: 1960 - present.

Digital Playtexts:

Drama Online - Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Drama Online includes the Core Collection and the Playwrights Canada Press Collection only. The Core collection features over 1,775 playtexts, including Arden Shakespeare play editions, Methuen Drama imprints, and “a diverse and rich catalogue of plays by the world's leading dramatists.”
Drama Online - Playwrights Canada Press Collection This link opens in a new window
Drama Online includes the Core Collection and the Playwrights Canada Press Collection only. The Playwrights Canada Press collection offers 175 plays from notable and award-winning authors including Daniel MacIvor and Hannah Moscovitch.

For a complete list of Drama Studies databases, please see:

Full List of Drama Databases

Streaming Video Databases for Drama

Digital Theatre Plus (DTP) (Streaming Video) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of contemporary British theatre performances. Also includes interviews, documentaries, study guides and other written learning resources.
Theatre in Video (Streaming Video) This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming video of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries.

For a full list of all streaming audio and video databases, please see the A-Z List of Databases: Streaming Audio & Video.

Questions? Ask the subject librarian for Drama.

Kevin Burke

(he/him)

Email Me

Contact:

506 364-2561

New Books & E-Books

Just a few titles recently added to our collections:

Indigenous Women's Theatre in Canada: A Mechanism of Decolonization by Sarah MacKenzie
Call Number: PS 8169 .I6 M33 2020
ISBN: 9781773631875
Publication Date: Fernwood, 2020
Focuses “on plays by Indigenous women written and produced in the socio-cultural milieux of twentieth and twenty-first century Canada.”
Shakespeare in a Divided America: What His Plays Tell Us About Our Past and Future by James Shapiro
Call Number: PR 2971 .U6 S55 2020
ISBN: 9780525522294
Publication Date: Penguin, 2020
“In a narrative arching from Revolutionary times to the present day, James Shapiro traces the unparalleled role of Shakespeare's four-hundred-year-old tragedies and comedies in illuminating the many concerns on which American identity has turned.”
Queering Drag: Redefining the Discourse of Gender-Bending by Meredith Heller
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780253045652
Publication Date: Indiana University Press , 2020
"...Models a new set of tools for analyzing drag as a process of intents and methods enacted to effect specific goals."

To find more books and e-books, search Novanet and e-book collections listed on the library's E-books page.