Mount A Libraries: English Subject Guide: Welcome

Quick Links

About this Guide

This guide is designed to help you find information and resources for English Literature.

Related Guides:

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

Book an appointment with a librarian

Librarians are available to meet with you in person, by phone, or online.

Key Databases for English

Using Novanet:

Novanet now searches all databases but Novanet search results may sometimes differ from search results in individual library database. For example, certain databases offer search features and options not available in Novanet.

Novanet can be a good place to start searching for articles on some topics but it does not replace searching individual library databases.

MLA (Modern Language Assocation) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly research in several languages covering topics in language, literature, linguistics, folklore and film. Includes citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers as well as series, proceedings, theses.
Years Indexed: 1920s - present
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Index to Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.
Years Indexed: 1960 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online provides full-text access to Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) beginning with volume 325 (2012) to volume 393 (2016)(no new volumes will be added as this title was cancelled in March 2016). Older volumes are available in print in the library (Basement Reference, PN 771 .C59). CLC provides full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals.

These are just a few of the library databases you can search to find scholarly information in the field of English Literature. For a complete list of key databases for English, please see:

Full List of English Databases

Ask a subject librarian

Mike Roy

he/him

New Books & E-Books

Just a few titles recently added to our collections:

Words in Collision by Michael L. Ross
Call Number: PR 878 .L35 R67 2023
ISBN: 9780228016977
Publication Date: 2023-04-15
Words in Collision explores this tradition of language-mixing and its consequences. Returning to Shakespeare's Henry V, Michael Ross asks why writers employ "foreign" phrases in their English-language texts, why this practice continues, and what it means. Discussing nineteenth-century works by Sir Walter Scott, Charlotte Brontë, and Henry James, the book demonstrates how multilingualism connects with themes of cosmopolitanism, estrangement, and resistance to social convention.
Canadian Literary Fare by Nathalie Cooke; Shelley Boyd; Alexia Moyer
Call Number: PS 8101 .F66 C66 2023
ISBN: 9780228016625
Publication Date: 2023-05-15
In Canadian Literary Fare Nathalie Cooke and Shelley Boyd explore food voices in a wide range of Canadian fiction, drama, and poetry, drawing from their formational blog series with Alexia Moyer. Thirteen short vignettes delve into metaphorical taste sensations, telling of how single ingredients such as garlic or ginger, or food items such as butter tarts or bannock, can pack a hefty symbolic punch in literary contexts.
An Anthology of Indigenous Literatures in English: Voices from Canada by Armand Garnet Ruffo, Katherena Vermette, Daniel David Moses & Terry Goldie, eds.
Call Number: PS 8235 .I6 A56 2020
ISBN: 9780199031719
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2020
“Emphasizing the importance of the oral tradition, the newly revised and expanded anthology offers a diverse selection of graphic and short stories, songs, poems, plays, letters, and essays by exceptional writers from First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities across Canada."
The Oxford Handbook of Chaucer by Suzanne Conklin Akbari & James Simpson, eds.
Call Number: PR 1924 .O94 2020
ISBN: 9780199582655
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2020
Addresses "Chaucer's poetry in the context of several disciplines, including late medieval philosophy and science, Mediterranean Studies, comparative literature, vernacular theology, and popular devotion."
Bodily Evidence: Racism, Slavery, and Maternal Power in the Novels of Toni Morrison by Geneva Cobb Moore
Call Number: PS 3563 .O8749 Z779 2020
ISBN: 9781643361000
Publication Date: University of South Carolina, 2020
“Explores how Morrison uses parody and pastiche, semiotics and metaphors, and allegory to portray black life in the United States, teaching untaught history to liberate Americans." Print or e-book.

To find more books and e-books, search Novanet and e-book collections listed on the library's E-books page.