Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are links to select lists of reference sources for English Literature: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference titles available in the R.P. Bell Library.
Literary Terms & Themes
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by
Call Number: PN 41 .B35 2008 REF
Publication Date: 2008-05-11
"The Third Edition of The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms provides succinct and often witty explanations of almost twelve hundred terms, covering everything from the ancient dithyramb to the contemporary dub poetry, from the popular bodice-ripper to the aristocratic masque, and from the social realism of Stalin's era to the magic realism of Gabriel Garcia Marquez."
For more books similar to this one, see Literary Terms and Themes
Literary & Cultural Theory, Criticism & Movements
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory by
Call Number: PN 81 .E635 2011 REF (3 vols)
Publication Date: 2011-01-18
This three volume set "provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory."
For more books similar to this one, see Literary & Cultural Theory, Criticism & Movements
Companions & Guides
The Concise Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature by
Call Number: PS 8015 .C65 2010 REF
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Based on the critically acclaimed Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature, this second concise edition includes books published up to 2010 and and covers major writers, significant works, awards, genre surveys, and other aspects of the Canadian literary scene, past and present.
For more books similar to this one, see Companions & Guides.
The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing by
Call Number: PN 146 .H36 2011 REF
Publication Date: 2011-03-22
Focusing on writing for publication, The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing discusses the components of a manuscript, types of manuscripts, and the submission process. It shows how to craft scholarly papers and other writing suitable for submission to academic journals.
For more books similar to this one, see Writing Guides.