Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

English Subject Guide: Companions & Guides

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for English Literature

Companions & Guides

A select list of companions and guides available in the Library's Reference Collection (main floor and basement).

American Literature 

Andrews, William L., Frances Smith Foster and Trudier Harris, eds.  The Oxford Companion to African American Literature.  New York: Oxford UP, 1997.  PS 153 .N5 O96 1997

Bader, Philip. African-American Writers. New York: Facts On File, c2004. PS 153 .N5 B214 2004

Bercovitch, Scavan, gen. ed. The Cambridge History of American Literature. 8 vols. Cambridge, England,: Cambridge University Press, 1994- . PS 92 .C34 1994

Burt, Daniel S., ed. The Chronology of American Literature: America's Literary Achievements from the Colonial Era to Modern Times. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2004. PS 94 .C48 2004

Davidson, Cathy N., et al., eds.  The Oxford companion to women's writing in the United States.  New York: Oxford UP, 1995.  PS 147 .O94 1995

Dickson-Carr, Darryl. The Columbia Guide to Contemporary African American Fiction. New York: Columbia University Press, c2005. PS 374 .N4 D533 2005

Ervin, Hazel Arnett. The Handbook of African American Literature. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2004. PS 153 .N5 E78 2004

Hart, James David.  The Oxford Companion to American Literature.  6th ed.  New York: Oxford UP, 1995.  PS 21 H3 1995

Hatch, Shari Dorantes. Encyclopedia of African-American Writing: Five Centuries of Contribution: Trials & Triumphs of Writers, Poets, Publications and Organizations. Amenia, N.Y.: Grey House Pub., 2009. PS 153 .N5 A3444 2009

Matterson, Stephen. American Literature: The Essential Glossary. London: Arnold, 2003. PS 21 .M38 2003

Matuozzi, Robert N. Literary Research and the American Modernist Era: Strategies and Sources. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2008. PS 228 .M63 M38 2008

Nelson, Emmanuel S, ed. Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States. 2 vols. Santa Barbara: Greenwood Press, c2009. PS 153 .S39 E53 2009

Wintz, Cary D., and Paul Finkelman, eds. Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance. 2 vols. New York: Routledge, 2004. NX 512.3 .A35 E53 2004

Xu, Wenying. Historical Dictionary of Asian American Literature and Theater. Lanham: Scarecrow, 2012. PS 153 .A84 X83 2012

A select list of companions and guides available in the Library's Reference Collection (main floor and basement).

Canadian Literature

Benson, Eugene and William Toye, eds.  The Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature.  Toronto: Oxford UP, 1997.  PS 8015 O93 1997

Lang, Robert, et al., eds.  Contemporary Canadian authors : a bio-bibliographical guide to current Canadian writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.  Toronto: Gale Canada, c1996 - .   PS 8081 .C66 1996

New, W.H., ed.  Canadian writers before 1890.   Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1990.  PS 8081 C5 1990

---.   Canadian writers, 1890-1920.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1990.  PS 8071.2 C37 1990

---.  Canadian writers, 1920-1959.   Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1988, c1989.  First Series: PS 8081 C54 1988 ; Second Series: PS 8081 C55 1989

---.  Canadian writers since 1960.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1986, c1987. First Series: PS 8081 C58 1986 ; Second Series: PS 8081 C59 1987

---. Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada. Toronto : University of Toronto Press, c2002. PS 8015 .E53 2002

Riegel, Christian. Twenty-first-century Canadian Writers. Detroit: Thomson Gale, c2007. PS 8072.5 .T94 2007

Toye, William, ed. The Concise Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature. Don Mills: Oxford UP, 2010. PS 8015 .C65 2010

A select list of companions and guides available in the Library's Reference Collection (main floor and basement).

English and Irish Literature

Bate, Jonathan. The Oxford English Literary History. Oxford University Press, 2002- . PR 85 .O96 2002

Crystal, David, and Ben Crystal. Shakespeare's Words : A Glossary and Language Companion. London: Penguin, 2002. PR 2892 .C78 2002

Drabble, Margaret.  The Oxford Companion to English Literature.  6th ed.  New York: Oxford UP, 2000.  PR 19 .O93 2000

Dobson, Michael and Stanley Wells, eds.  The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 2001. PR 2892 .O94 2001

Hahn, Daniel. The Oxford Guide to Literary Britain & Ireland. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2008 PR 109 .O84 2008

Hattaway, Michael, ed.  A Companion to English Renaissance Literature and Culture. Oxford: Blackwell, 2001.  PR 411 .C66 2000

Hebron, Malcolm. Key Concepts in Renaissance Literature. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2008. PR 411 .H43 2008

Purchase, Sean. Key Concepts in Victorian Literature. Houndmills: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006. PR 461 .P87 2006

Rennison, Nick. Contemporary British Novelists. London: Routledge, 2005. PR 889 .R46 2005

Schlueter, Paul and June Schlueter, eds.  An Encyclopedia of British Women Writers.  Rev. and expanded ed.  New Brunswick: Rutgers UP, 1998.  PR 111 .E54 1998

Solopova, Elizabeth. Key Concepts in Medieval Literature. Basingstoke : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007 PR 255 .S65 2007

Welch, Robert, ed.  The Oxford Companion to Irish Literature.  Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996.  PR 8706 .O88 1996 

A select list of companions and guides available in the Library's Reference Collection (main floor and basement).

Postcolonial Literature

Benson, Eugene and L. W. Conolly, eds.  Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English. 2nd. ed. 3 vols.  London: Routledge, 2005.  PR 9080 .A52 E53 2005

Poddar, Prem, and David Johnson, eds. A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Thought in English. New York : Columbia University Press, c2005. PR 9080 .A52 H57 2005

Wisker, Gina. Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature. Houndmills: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007. PR 9080 .W57 2007

More Guides, Companions and Literary Encyclopedias

Bosman, Ellen. Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Literature: A Genre Guide. Westport, Conn.: Libraries Unlimited, 2008. PS 153 .G38 B67 2008

Chevalier, Tracy, ed.  Encyclopedia of the Essay.  London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, c1997.  PN 4500 .E63 1997

Fallon, Erin, et al., eds.  A Reader's Companion to the Short Story in English.  Publisher: Westport: Greenwood Press, 2001.  PS 374 .S5 R43 2001

France, Peter, ed.  The Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation. Oxford : Oxford UP, c2000.  PR 131 .O94 2000

Harner, James L. Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies. 5th ed. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2008. Z 2011 .H34 2008

Johnson, Sarah L. Historical Fiction: A Guide to the Genre. Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, c2005. PS 374 .H5 J64 2005

Netzley, Patricia D.  Social Protest Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, c1999.  PN 56 .S65 N48 1999

Riggs, Thomas, ed.  Reference Guide to Short Fiction. 2nd ed.  Detroit: St. James Press, 1999.  PN 3373 .R36 1999

Sage, Lorna.  The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English.  New York: Cambridge UP, 1999.  PR 111 S24 1999

Stringer, Jenny, ed.  The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English.  Oxford: Oxford UP, 1996.  PR 471 O94 1996

Wilde, William H., Joy Hooton and Barry Andrews. The Oxford Companion to Australian Literature.  2nd ed.  Melbourne: Oxford UP, 1994.  PR 9600.2 W55 1994 

Loading