Mount A Libraries: English Subject Guide: Find Articles

Quick Links

Key Databases for English

Using Novanet:

Novanet now searches all databases but Novanet search results may sometimes differ from search results in individual library database. For example, certain databases offer search features and options not available in Novanet.

Novanet can be a good place to start searching for articles on some topics but it does not replace searching individual library databases.

MLA (Modern Language Assocation) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly research in several languages covering topics in language, literature, linguistics, folklore and film. Includes citations from more than 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers as well as series, proceedings, theses.
Years Indexed: 1920s - present
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Index to Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.
Years Indexed: 1960 - present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literature Criticism Online provides full-text access to Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) beginning with volume 325 (2012) to volume 393 (2016)(no new volumes will be added as this title was cancelled in March 2016). Older volumes are available in print in the library (Basement Reference, PN 771 .C59). CLC provides full-text or excerpted criticism reproduced from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals.

These are just a few of the library databases you can search to find scholarly information in the field of English Literature. For a complete list of key databases for English, please see:

Full List of English Databases

Search Tips

The following guides provide tips to help you search effectively for the information you need:

How to Search for Articles
How to Find Articles on Your Topic
Preparing a Search Strategy
Tips for searching library databases

More Research Guides and Search Tips

Additional guides designed to help you search for and evaluation information can be found on the Research Tips page.

Journal Finder

Have a citation for an article you would like to find at the library?

Use Journal Finder to search the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper.

If MtA has access to the title, Journal Finder will list what years and where (eg. in print or online)