Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

English Subject Guide: Literary & Cultural Theory, Criticism & Movements

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for English Literature

Literary & Cultural Theory, Criticism & Movements

Except where indicated, books listed on this page are located in the Reference Collection, main floor. 

Buchanan, Ian. A Dictionary of Critical Theory. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2010. B 809.3 .B83 2010

* Contemporary Authors: A Bio-bibliographical Guide to Current Writers in Fiction, General Nonfiction, Poetry, Journalism, Drama, Motion Pictures, Television and Other Fields.  Detroit: Gale,  1962 - 2005.  PN 451 C76 Basement Reference

* Contemporary Literary Criticism.  Detroit: Gale, 1973 - .  Volume 325 (2012) to present accessible online via Literature Criticism Online; older volumes are available in print in the library (PN 771 C59, Basement Reference)

Greene, Roland, ed. The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. 4th ed. Princeton: Princeton UP, 2012. PN 1021 .N39 2012

Groden, Michael, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman, eds.  The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism.  2nd ed. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins UP, 2005.  PN 81 .J554 2005

Hawthorn, Jeremy.  A Glossary of Contemporary Literary Theory.  4th ed.  London : Arnold ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.  PN 44.5 .H37 2000

Henderson, Helene, and Jay P. Pederson, eds.  Twentieth-Century Literary Movements Dictionary.  Detroit: Omnigraphics, 2000.  PN 597 T94 2000

Kowaleski-Wallace, Elizabeth, ed.  Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory.  New York: Garland, 1997.  PN 98 .W64 E53 1997

Murray, Chris, ed.  Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism.  2 vols.  London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, c1999.  PN 75 .E53 E53 1999

Poplawski, Paul, ed. Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003. PN 56 .M54 E53 2003

Ryan, Michael, ed. The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory. 3 vols. Malden, Mass.: Wiley-Blackwell, c2011. PN 81 .E635 2011

Gale Literary Index