Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

English Subject Guide: Literary Terms & Themes

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for English Literature

Literary Terms and Themes

Baldick, Chris. The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms. 3rd. ed. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2008. PN 41 .B35 2008 REF

Childs, Peter, and Roger Fowler, eds. The Routledge Dictionary of Literary Terms. N.Y.: Routledge, 2005. PN 41 .R68 2006 REF

Cuddon, J. A.  A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory.  4th ed.  Oxford: Blackwell, 1998.   PN 41 .C83 1998 REF

Kennedy, X. J., Dana Gioia, and Mark Bauerlein. The Longman Dictionary of Literary Terms: Vocabulary for the Informed Reader. New York: Pearson/Longman, 2006. PN 44.5 .K46 2006 REF

Lentricchia, Frank and Thomas McLaughlin, eds.  Critical Terms for Literary Study.  2nd ed.  Chicago; London: University of Chicago Press, c1995.  PN 81 .C84 1995 REF

Quinn, Edward. A Dictionary of Literary and Thematic Terms. New York: Facts on File, 1999. PN 44.5 .Q56 1999 REF

Seigneuret, Jean-Charles et al., eds.  Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs.  2 vols.  New York: Greenwood, 1988.  PN 43 D48 1988 REF