Find Resources - Draft

Overview of Resources for Research

Books & Ebooks

MtA Libraries collections includes thousands of volumes in print and online. Resources at Novanet libraries  and beyond are also available 

• Find books and ebooks using Novanet  search - limit by Resource Type = Books
  • See Find Books for Novanet search tips  

Articles & Journals

MtA Libraries subscribe to 80+ databases providing online access to scholarly, magazine, trade paper, and newspaper articles (as well as access to streaming video and a variety of primary source materials)

• Search for articles using
  • Novanet  - limit by Resource Type = Articles  
  • Databases - get recommended databases by subject LINK or see A-Z Databases LINK
    • See Find Articles LINK for search tips 
  • Google Scholar  
    • Google Scholar tips 

Print and online journals, magazines, and newspapers are also available 

• Use Journal Search   to search for journals, magazines, and newspapers
  • See Find Journals LINK for more info and search tips 

Course Reserves

• Course Reserves - Find out about course specific resources available on short term loan

Lookup Course Reserves 

Music & Audio Visual Resources

Need to find:

• printed music scores
• audio recordings
• motion pictures & documentaries
•  

Microfilm and Microfiche

Background & Reference Sources

Government Docs

Looking for local, regional, or federal government from Canada and other countries. Statutes, legislation, department or agency publications

Gov Docs subject guide 

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Find recommended library databases and other useful resources arranged by discipline

Archives & Special Collections  

Archives - looking for paper documents, photographs, electronic records, maps, films, artifacts, and more resources created by the university as well as private records of local families, clubs, businesses, and churches

For more information, Archives web page

Special Collections - collections of rare and research materials on themes, such as Canadiana, Acadiana, Newfoundlandia, Chignecto Isthmus: Its History and Culture, and Folklore, as well as collections of literature and other rare books

For more information, Special Collections page

Citation & Writing Guides

Citation Guides - APA, MLA, Chicago, other

Writing Guides - 

Items Not at MTA Libraries

ILL is a free service that will facilitate getting another library to supply a copy or the loan of items not available at MTA Libraries 

ILL login / place requests  

Research Help

LINK OUT TO RESEARCH HELP Get help with using the library, finding, evaluating, and citing resources, and more