Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Find Information: Chignecto Isthmus: Its History and Culture

The Chignecto Database

The Chignecto Database provides access to historical material on the people and places of the Isthmus of Chignecto held by the Ralph Pickard Bell Library, Mount Allison University, Sackville, N.B.

Materials indexed include: books, pamphlets, maps, newspapers, journal articles, government publications and images. The major focus at present is on the settlements of Sackville and area, Point de Bute, Port Elgin, Cape Tormentine, the great Tantramar Marsh and Forts Beausejour and Lawrence. Other areas on the Isthmus are represented in a lesser way, but the intention is to add material as time permits.

Most of the indexed items are held in the Winthrop Pickard Bell Collection of Acadiana, a special collection within the Ralph Pickard Bell Library. This is a special collection of over 14,000 volumes on the history and culture of the Maritime Provinces, which is available to the public during Library open hours. However, the titles are not available through Interlibrary Loan.

Microform material is housed in the Microform Room which is also open during regular Library hours. This is equipped with a microfilm/microfiche reader with a scanning device to digitize microform.

At present there is a very limited amount of full text available on line. Thus, it will probably be necessary to visit the Library to use the items listed. Of course, patrons may be able to find the material at other libraries. In addition, photocopying services are available for material not covered by copyright if the originals are not too fragile.

For assistance please contact a Reference Librarian at the Ralph Pickard Bell Library.

The Chignecto Database is accessible from both on and off-campus.

Margaret Fancy, Librarian Emerita, Mount Allison
October 2009