Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Find Information: Mary Mellish Archibald Memorial Library of Folklore

Mary Mellish Archibald Memorial Library

The Mary Mellish Archibald Memorial Library is a collection of folk-music, folklore, ballad literature, folk-life, art song and college songs. The focus of the older material is largely English-language publications relating to these subjects in Canada, the British Isles and the United States. In later years there has been an increasing focus on folklore and folklife material from around the world.

The Collection was begun by Dr. Raymond Claire Archibald in 1905, to honour his mother Mary Mellish Archibald who had been the Preceptress (Principal of the Ladies College) at Mount Allison. Dr. Archibald was a graduate of Mount Allison and taught both violin and mathematics before going on to Brown University where he taught mathematics. He was also responsible for developing a mathematics library at Brown.

The Collection holds over 12,000 volumes, with extensive back runs of serial titles. The rare items of the collection (approximately 2000 titles) are held in the Rare Book Room and are subject to the same restrictions which apply to all items from that collection. The journal titles are housed on the journals floor of the Library. All other book/dvd/video titles are housed in the Mary Mellish Room which is an open-access collection on the third floor of the Library. Interlibrary loans for non-fragile material is available.

The Collection is supported by an endowment which was begun by Dr. Archibald in 1905.

More About the Collection

Items shelved in the Mary Mellish Archibald Memorial Library in Room 304 may be borrowed and taken out of the library. Journals located on the Ground Floor, and items located in the Rare Book Room may be used in the library.

For information about this collection, please contact Rare Books and Special Collections Librarian Elizabeth Millar at emillar@mta.ca or 506-364-2386.