Index to periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins by subject, name, and art work. Covers art, architecture, city planning, film, photography, and related fields. Coverage: 1984-present.
Coverage prior to 1984 is available in the print edition: Z 5937 .A78 (Reference)
Scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles covering the subjects of Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies
Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.
Major index for historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Subjects covered include popular culture, women's studies, anthropology, folklore, sociology, economics, music, art, etc. Coverage: 1964-present.
Includes national, regional and local newspapers from the United Kingdom. Coverage of British and world news, culture and society during the 19th century.
Part of the Adam Matthew Digital Collections, key topics addressed in this database include Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and Anatomy.
Part of the Adam Matthew Digital Collections, this project explores colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Journal of Material Culture explores the relationship between artefacts and social relations. It draws on a range of disciplines including anthropology, archaeology, design studies, history, human geography and museology.
Journal of Visual Culture welcomes compelling, critically engaged contributions that explore and expand trans-disciplinary global visual cultures. Journal of Visual Culture is an international refereed journal.
Canadian scholarly journal dedicated to the study of material culture. It is published twice annually. Volumes from 2006-2015 available via America: History and Life with Full Text. Érudit hosts volumes from 2010-present.
From its beginning in 2008, Shift has been committed to promoting the study of visual and material culture, broadly defined as the cultural construction of visual and material experience in media, arts, and everyday life. This scope does not limit the topics, disciplinary approaches, time periods, or geopolitical sites that may be addressed by works published in the journal. Rather, the journal seeks to expand the ways in which cultural products, located within studies of visual and material culture, can be discussed.
Early Popular Visual Culture is a peer-reviewed, academic journal dedicated to stimulating research and interdisciplinary studies in relation to all forms of popular visual culture before 1930.
Visual Culture & Gender (VCG) was born digital more than a decade ago in 2005 as the first multimedia online journal in the field of art education, and the first online journal devoted to the intersections of visual culture and gender. VCG is an annual international, peer-reviewed, freely accessed, multimedia online journal whose purpose is to encourage and promote understanding of how visual culture constructs gender in context with representations of race, age, sexuality, (dis)ability, and social class.
Winterthur Portfolio fosters knowledge of the North American past by publishing articles on material culture and the historical contexts within which artifacts developed. The journal presents scholarship that critically engages art history, history, geography, ethnology, archaeology, anthropology, folklife studies, and literature.
Journal Finder
Have a citation for an article you would like to get?
Use Item Search to search the article by citation, DOI, or PMID
See the Availability and Request for MtA access or requesting options
