This guide was created to help provide resources which can help you at each stage of the research, analysis, and writing process through the project. The resources here are selective and not exhaustive, so if you are looking for more help please reach out to Gavin Goodwin, Creative Arts Librarian, or Renee Belliveau, University Archivist for more research help!
Communities of Memory: On Witness, Identity, and Justice by 
From Squaw Tit to Whorehouse Meadow: How Maps Name, Claim, and Inflame by 
The Political Life of Urban Streetscapes: naming, politics, and place by 
Critical toponymies: the contested politics of place naming by Research Articles
An introductory bibliography of articles relating to place names, critical toponymy, and cultural and community memory has been compiled by the librarian. The full list can be accessed here in a shared Zotero library; each entry includes all of the bibliographic information in the side panel, and double clicking an entry in the list will link you directly to the full text of the article (when accessing off-campus, you may be required to authenticate with your MtA username and password).
This list is not exhaustive so you are encouraged to do your own searching. Due to this project touching on many different subject areas, it is recommended you start with searching Novanet and some of the broader interdisciplinary library databases for your searching before starting to refine what and where you are searching. You can also browse the library's A-Z database list to browse databases by subject or consult the library's list of Subject Guides to see recommended resources for related subjects like sociology, anthropology, women's and gender studies, geography, and history.
The Winthrop Pickard Bell Collection of Acadiana
The Winthrop Pickard Bell Collection of Acadiana concentrates on the land area of historic Acadie and includes material on the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island, and on eastern Maine to the Penobscot and Kennebec rivers. The primary time focus is prior to 1945, although selected material for the later period is also collected. The collection contains extensive coverage of local Sackville & Tantramar history, including historical accounts, genealogies, government publications, and more.
The collection is separate from the main library book stacks and all materials are available for 4-hour loans and in-library use only. You can request materials from the collection for study at the Access Services desk on the main floor of the R.P. Bell Library.
Designing and Conducting Ethnographic Research by 
Analysis and Interpretation of Ethnographic Data by Microsoft Excel
The most common point-and-click visualization tool you will be using is Microsoft Excel. Excel and the full suite of Microsoft Office programs are available to you as students through Mount Allison's Office 365 subscription, allowing you to use both the web-based and desktop versions of the software for free. You can log in to the software and download it at office.com by using your MtA credentials, and more information and support can be found here.
Other Visualization Tools
Data Visualization Best Practices
Visual Accessibility
Colour choice is an important consideration to ensure that your visualizations are clear and to help avoid misinterpretation of the data, but also for ensuring that your visualizations are accessible to those with colourblindness or reduced vision.
