Visual and Material Culture Subject Guide: Welcome

Index to periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins by subject, name, and art work. Covers art, architecture, city planning, film, photography, and related fields. Coverage: 1984-present.

Scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles covering the subjects of Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies

Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.

Major index for historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Subjects covered include popular culture, women's studies, anthropology, folklore, sociology, economics, music, art, etc. Coverage: 1964-present.

Includes national, regional and local newspapers from the United Kingdom. Coverage of British and world news, culture and society during the 19th century.

Part of the Adam Matthew Digital Collections, key topics addressed in this database include Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and Anatomy.

Part of the Adam Matthew Digital Collections, this project explores colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.

An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.