Mount A Libraries: Visual and Material Culture Subject Guide: Photography

Selected Photography Journals

Early Popular Visual Culture (online journal) Peer-reviewed academic journal featuring research and interdisciplinary studies relating to all forms of popular visual culture before 1930, including cinema, photography, music hall, cartoon strips, etc.
History of Photography (online journal) "International quarterly journal devoted to the history, practice and theory of photography. It intends to address all aspects of the medium, treating the processes, circulation, functions, and reception of photography in all forms, including documentary, vernacular, popular and polemical work as well as fine art photography. " (Taylor & Francis Online description)

Paper Journals:

Aperture: TR 1 .A7

European Photography: TR 640 .E78

Prefix Photo: TR 640 .P72

RPS Journal (Royal Photographic Society of Great Britain): TR 1 .P778

Browsing the Shelves: Guide to TR Classification

Selected areas in TR: Photography

TR 139: Biography, collected

TR 140, A-Z: Biography, Individual

TR 250-265: Cameras

TR 287-500: Processing; Darkroom technique

TR 504-508: Transparencies. Diapositives

TR 510-545: Color photography

TR 550-581: Studio and laboratory

TR 590-620: Lighting

TR 624-835: Applied photography (artistic, commercial...)

TR 845-899: Cinematography. Motion pictures

TR 925-1050: Photomechanical processes

Adapted from Library of Congress Classification Outline

Contemporary Photographers by Martin M. Evans (Editor)
Call Number: TR 139 .C66 1995 REF
ISBN: 1558621903
Publication Date: 1995-08-01
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by John Hannavy (Editor) Comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Coverage includes key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from 'a solution in search of a problem' when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life which it had become by the dawn of the twentieth century. 2 volumes.
Call Number: TR 9 .H25 2008 REF
ISBN: 0415972353
Publication Date: 2007-08-24
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography by Lynne Warren (Editor)
Call Number: TR 642 .E5 2006 REF
ISBN: 1579583938
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography: Digital Imaging, Theory and Applications, History, and Science by Michael R. Peres (Editor-In-Chief) The fourth edition of this important reference source is organized thematically rather than alphabetically. Included searchable CD ROM containing the entire book (including images), plus never before published images provided by the George Eastman House collection, as well as images from Ansel Adams, Howard Schatz, Jerry Uelsmann, and others.
Call Number: TR 9 .F6 2007 REF
ISBN: 0240807405
Publication Date: 2007-04-11
The Photography Encyclopedia The Photography Encyclopedia brings the art, science and business of photography together in a comprehensive and accessible overview. It features biographical entries; explanations of key terms; and sections on awards; galleries and museums; magazines; booksellers; manufacturers; films; book reviews; a timeline; and information on national photography contests.
Call Number: TR 9 .M39 1999 REF
ISBN: 0028650255
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Photography by Nathalie Herschdorfer
Call Number: TR 9 .T53 2015 REF
ISBN: 0500544476
Publication Date: 2015-11-23

Center for Creative Photography (University of Arizona) This archive and research center retains the archives of significant 20th-century photographers such as Ansel Adams, Edward Weston, Garry Winogrand, and Harry Callahan. This site provides digital images of many works from the collections.
Digital Public Library of America Explore millions of items from libraries, museums, and archives; includes still and moving images, texts, maps, sheet music, sound files. Project partners include Internet Archive, HathiTrust. U.S. Library of Congress and National Archives, New York Public Library, Smithsonian Institution, and others.
George Eastman Museum The George Eastman Museum, in Rochester, New York, is the world’s oldest photography museum and one of the oldest film archives. Online Collections include photographs, technology, frame clippings, and selections from their rare book collection.
Helios: Photography Online
International Center of Photography The ICP is "dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all its forms." Go to Research Center, then Collections, to find your way to the eMuseum, a searchable database of its extensive photography collections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress' Digital Collections include digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books.
The LIFE Picture Collection
Magnum Photos Magnum, founded in 1947, is a highly selective cooperative of photographers that manages the licensing and sales of the works of its members. Some of its vast collections can be browsed online, but be aware that everything is under copyright.

Recent Books Photography & Cinema

Firecrackers: Female Photographers Now by Fiona Rogers; Anon; Max Houghton; Ruth Hough
Call Number: TR 655 .R643 2017
ISBN: 0500544743
Publication Date: 2017-09-19
Making Believe by Lisa Bode
Call Number: TR 858 .B63 2017
ISBN: 081357997X
Publication Date: 2017-07-07
Mapplethorpe + Munch by Jon-Ove Steihaug (Editor); Richard Meyer
Call Number: TR 647 .M362 2016 Oversize
ISBN: 0300220103
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Photographs, Museums, Collections by Elizabeth Edwards (Editor); Christopher Morton (Editor)
Call Number: TR 6 .A1 P485 2015
ISBN: 1472533925
Publication Date: 2015-05-19
Photography after Photography by Abigail Solomon-Godeau; Sarah Parsons (Editor)
Call Number: TR 642 .S64 2017
ISBN: 082236266X
Publication Date: 2017-05-15