Skip to main content
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Visual & Material Cultures Guide: Home

Visual and Material Culture is a new program offered at Mount Allison that examines the meaning, purpose, and value of images and objects within society.

Reference Sources in Visual and Material Culture

If you're just getting started, try one of these academic encyclopedias.

Search Novanet

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music & more.

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Searching for a particular book by title or author?  Try Browse searching.

Novanet searches many but not all library databases (details). Databases not included in Novanet can be accessed from the A-Z List of databases.

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search only for books. 

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Searching for a particular book by title or author?  Try Browse searching. 

Switch to: Novanet Classic (aka the Library Catalogue)

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search only for articles.

 


Novanet Advanced Search

Novanet searches most but not all library databases (details). Databases not included in Novanet can be accessed from the A-Z List of databases.

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

New & Notable Library Books

EBooks

Databases

Scroll over the 'i' icon for more information about each database.

Questions? Ask a Librarian.

Sarah Bartlett's picture
Sarah Bartlett
Contact:
Lower floor, Marjorie Bell Young Conservatory of Music, 134 Main Street Sackville, New Brunswick
506 364-2214; Music Library: 506 364-2561

Search Tips

Visual and Material Culture is an interdisciplinary field, combining art with humanities disciplines (anthropology, sociology, psychology). Sometimes these terms may be used and Visual, Material, or Culture may not be included in the title of a book or article in this area. Check the contents of a resource by clicking its title in Novanet and reading the item description in the record notes.

Narrowing your Novanet search based on format (under Resource Type) or location (under Library) can help you find materials in our holdings in the formats you need (books, reference texts, audio/visual, etc). 

Including the * symbol at the end of a word allows you to search for multiple endings: Canad* will find results including Canada, Canadian, Canadiana, Canada's, etc.