Our Services, Collections and Facilities
Music Library
University Archives
The Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives is comprised of the Ralph Pickard Bell Library, the Alfred Whitehead Music Library, and the University Archives. Together, the Libraries and Archives offer services, research resources, and collections designed to help support the curriculum and scholarly requirements of faculty members and students
The Libraries' borrowing, interlibrary loan, research assistance, and more services are available to all library users including those in our local communities
Librarians offer general and discipline-specific library instruction to students and offer opportunities for self-directed learning by creating guides and other learning tools found on the Libraries and Archives website
This focus on teaching and developing information literacy is an important part of Librarians' work in helping students and others become life-long learners
In addition to a collection of over 500,000 print items, the Libraries provide access to an ever increasing number of electronic books, journals, newspapers, videos and musical recordings, and other materials
Our special collections include:
During the Fall and Winter academic terms, the R.P. Bell Library is open close to 100 hours per week and can provide work and study space for up to 450 students and other researchers
Use Novanet, the library's online discovery system to locate and access the libraries' print and digital collections by using one of the public workstations or by connecting to the University's wireless network
Computers are available on the Main floor of the R.P. Bell Library. An Instruction Lab on the Third Floor is available for general use when not booked for classes
List of software available on library workstations
Visitors may obtain a guest computer or WiFi account at the Access Services Desk
Located on the lower floor of the Marjorie Young Bell Conservatory of Music, the Music Library is a fully-operating branch library, providing access to growing collections of scholarly materials, encompassing books about music, scores and printed music, audio-visual resources in a variety of media, and online databases including music streaming.
The University Archives makes available for research purposes the historical records of Mount Allison institutions and selected records from the local community such as: annual reports, academic calendars, minutes of meetings, correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, photographs, maps, and architectural records.
Contact: 506-364-2563 | archives@mta.ca | Floor 3 of the R.P. Bell Library
Librarians are available to meet with you in person, by phone, or online.
