It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Major index for historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Subjects covered include popular culture, women's studies, anthropology, folklore, sociology, economics, music, art, etc. Coverage: 1964-present.
Part of the Adam Matthew Digital Collections, key topics addressed in this database include Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and Anatomy.
Part of the Adam Matthew Digital Collections, this project explores colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Journal of Material Culture explores the relationship between artefacts and social relations. It draws on a range of disciplines including anthropology, archaeology, design studies, history, human geography and museology.
Journal of Visual Culture welcomes compelling, critically engaged contributions that explore and expand trans-disciplinary global visual cultures. Journal of Visual Culture is an international refereed journal.
From its beginning in 2008, Shift has been committed to promoting the study of visual and material culture, broadly defined as the cultural construction of visual and material experience in media, arts, and everyday life. This scope does not limit the topics, disciplinary approaches, time periods, or geopolitical sites that may be addressed by works published in the journal. Rather, the journal seeks to expand the ways in which cultural products, located within studies of visual and material culture, can be discussed.
Visual Culture & Gender (VCG) was born digital more than a decade ago in 2005 as the first multimedia online journal in the field of art education, and the first online journal devoted to the intersections of visual culture and gender. VCG is an annual international, peer-reviewed, freely accessed, multimedia online journal whose purpose is to encourage and promote understanding of how visual culture constructs gender in context with representations of race, age, sexuality, (dis)ability, and social class.
Winterthur Portfolio fosters knowledge of the North American past by publishing articles on material culture and the historical contexts within which artifacts developed. The journal presents scholarship that critically engages art history, history, geography, ethnology, archaeology, anthropology, folklife studies, and literature.
Already got a citation for an article and you want to find it at the library?
Use Journal Finder to search for the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper.
Journal Finder will direct you to the database in which a journal is available in digital format.