Research, content, and design of this website was carried out by archivist Renée Belliveau ('17) with help from University Archivist David Mawhinney and was funded in part by the Crake Foundation. The Mount Allison University Archives is extremely grateful for their generous support. Special thanks to Barbara McNutt ('53) for her assistance during the editorial process.
The Mount Allison University Archives is pleased to celebrate the achievements of its community. We hope that you will enjoy learning more about these remarkable individuals, who we are proud to call Allisonians.
We would like to acknowledge that Mount Allison University is located within the traditional territory of Mi’kma’ki, the unceded ancestral homelands of the Mi’kmaq. Our relationship and our privilege to live on this territory was agreed upon in the Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1725 to 1752. Because of this treaty relationship, it is to be acknowledged that we are all Treaty People and have a responsibility to respect this territory.
If you know of any Allisonians who became "firsts" in their field, please let us know! We are eager to learn about the accomplishments of our alumni and look forward to documenting the achievements of our next generation of graduates.
Mount Allison University Archives
Third floor, Ralph Pickard Bell Library
49 York Street Sackville, New Brunswick E4L 1C6
Telephone: 506-364-2563
Fax: 506-364-2617
E-mail: archives@mta.ca
University Archivist: David Mawhinney - BA, MIST
Hours: The Mount Allison University Archives are open BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. To make an appointment, either e-mail archives@mta.ca or telephone the Archives (506-364-2563) and leave a voice message. Staff will then contact you to arrange for an appointment.
DIGITIZATION PROCESS
The majority of the images on this virtual exhibit were digitized using an Epson Perfection 3200 Photo scanner at 300 DPI, 24-bit colour resolution, uncompressed TIFF file format. No touch-ups were done, and every effort was made to reproduce as closely as possible the original image. Some alterations may have been done using the open-source image editing software, IrfanView, version 3.95.
Images are stored on the Mount Allison University server and most of the images used in this virtual exhibition are also available on the Mount Allison Archives Descriptions Database.
Digitization of photographs included in this exhibition was completed by University Archivist David Mawhinney and archival assistant Renée Belliveau.
METADATA
Structural metadata has been gathered during the scanning process. The structural metadata files contain information about the pagination of the document and correlation between filename and identification (retrieval) numbers.
Descriptive metadata for fonds includes title / statement of responsibility, dates of creation, physical extent, biographical sketch, custodial history, scope and content, source of title, related materials, associated materials, finding aids, immediate source of acquisition, physical description, notes, and retrieval number.
Descriptive metadata for items includes retrieval number, title, date, restrictions on access, use and reproduction.
WEBSITE CREATION
This virtual exhibition is hosted on the Mount Allison University Library's Springshare platform (LibGuides). Design and creation of the exhibition was carried out by Renée Belliveau. The banner was created by Renée Belliveau using an image from the collection (7102/32/1) on the graphic design platform Canva.
EXHIBITION DATES
The Mount Allison University Firsts virtual exhibition will be supported online through the Mount Allison Libraries and Archives LibGuide platform from 2021 onward.
Users are reminded that the photographs and images of documents used in this exhibition are provided for the purposes of research, private study, general interest and reference only.
Access to the photographs and images of these documents and the technical capacity to download them does not imply permission for re-use. Any use other than those cited above, including publication or re-distribution in any form, electronic and publishing/broadcasting on the Web, or use in an exhibition or display, requires written permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Materials made available in this online exhibition may also be subject to additional restrictions including, but not limited to, the rights of copyright and privacy. Users should be aware of their responsibility for determining the existence of such rights and acquiring all necessary permissions.
For information on this virtual exhibition and the archival documents featured in it please contact:
David Mawhinney, University Archivist
Mount Allison University Archives
Ralph Pickard Bell Library
49 York Street
Sackville New Brunswick
E4L 1C6
Canada
Telephone : (506) 364-2563
Fax : (506) 364-2617
Email: dmawhinney@mta.ca