Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

J.E.A. Crake: Information

A virtual exhibition that pays tribute to a distinguished professor of Classics at Mount Allison University.

Information


Archival work on the arrangement and description of the J.E.A. Crake fonds, the preparation of file and item level descriptions for same, and the production of this website, has been entirely funded by a significant grant from the Crake Foundation.

The Mount Allison University Archives is extremely grateful to the members of this Foundation for their generous support.

Mount Allison University student, Karissa Larocque, who carried out this archival project, deserves praise for both her provision of accurate and detailed descriptions and her eagerness to carry out further research on the creators of the documents. I would personally like to thank Karissa for her dedication to this work.

I also wish to extend appreciation to Bernard Soubry who assisted with the preparation of the virtual exhibition to accompany this guide. His work will ensure that J.E.A. Crake is more widely known and understood in the virtual world via the Internet.

The Mount Allison University Archives is very pleased that through this special project access to these private records has been greatly increased and the life and contributions of Dr. Crake may now be better understood and appreciated.

David Mawhinney

University Archivist

4 June 2014


The migration of the original virtual exhibition to the current platform was undertaken by archival assistant Renée Belliveau in 2021.

In keeping with the mission of the Mount Allison University Archives to acquire, preserve and make available the records in its holdings, the preparation of this virtual exhibition is intended to provide increased access to original documents. However, viewers are reminded that the photographs and images of documents used in this exhibition are provided for the purposes of research, private study, general interest and reference only.

Access to the photographs and images of these documents and the technical capacity to download them does not imply permission for re-use. Any use other than those cited above, including publication or re-distribution in any form, electronic and publishing/broadcasting on the Web, or use in an exhibition or display, requires written permission from the Mount Allison University Archives. Mount Allison University currently holds the copyright on works created by J.E.A. Crake.

Materials made available in this online exhibition may also be subject to additional restrictions including, but not limited to, the rights of copyright and privacy. Users should be aware of their responsibility for determining the existence of such rights and acquiring all necessary permissions.

For information on this virtual exhibition and the archival documents featured in it please contact:

David Mawhinney, University Archivist
Mount Allison University Archives
Ralph Pickard Bell Library
49 York Street
Sackville New Brunswick
E4L 1C6
Canada

Telephone : (506) 364-2563
Fax : (506) 364-2617
Email: dmawhinney@mta.ca

The objective of the J.E.A. Crake virtual exhibition project was to digitize and provide Web access to some of the original documents and objects in the holdings of the Mount Allison University Archives which relate to his life and work. In this way the Archives hopes to draw attention to the value of archival material as both a research tool and a teaching tool.

Archival documents and objects featured were selected from the J.E.A. Crake fonds. The project implementation was broken into the following processes:

*Research and Selection
*Scanning
*Topic identification, arrangement and text
*Metadata collection
*Web design and access

 

SCANNING and PHOTOGRAPHY

General scanning was carried out by the University Archivist at Mount Allison University with an Epson Expression 10000 XL flatbed scanner. Master tiff files were created and public access images have been captured to the following standard:

File format: JPEG
Compression: Uncompressed
Digital resolution: 300 dpi

Images are stored on an external hard drive as well as on the Mount Allison University server. Every effort was made to respect the integrity of the original documents. Therefore, minimal action was taken to correct imperfections in the originals.

Scanning of the Greek and Roman coins was carried out by Jim Ehrman in the Digital Microscopy Facility at Mount Allison University with a Hewlett Packard ScanJet G3110 flatbed scanner. Master tiff files were created and public access images have been created to the following standard:

File format: JPEG
Compression: Compressed, "high" image quality (setting 8) in Photoshop CS4,
Digital resolution: 1200 dpi, 24 bit depth color, final image size of combined obverse and reverse views: 3000 x 1500 pixels.

Images are stored on DVD data disks, an external hard drive as well as on the Mount Allison University server. Every effort was made to respect the integrity of the original coins. Therefore, minimal action was taken to correct imperfections in the originals.

Photography of the pottery items was carried out by Jane Tisdale at the Owens Art Gallery at Mount Allison University using a Canon EOS RebelT31, with an EFS 60mm lens. Public access images have been captured to the following standard:

File format: JPEG
Compression: Uncompressed
Digital resolution: 300 dpi

 

METADATA

Structural metadata has been gathered during the scanning process. The structural metadata files contain information about the pagination of the document and correlation between filename and identification (retrieval) numbers.

Descriptive metadata for fonds includes: title / statement of responsiblity, dates of creation, physical extent, biographical sketch, custodial history, scope and content, source of title, related materials, associated materials, finding aids, immediate source of acquisition, physical description, notes, and retrieval number.

Descriptive metadata for items includes: retrieval number, title, date, restrictions on access, use and reproduction.

 

WEB DESIGN

Web design of the original virtual exhibition was carried out by Aloma Jardine, David Mawhinney, and Bernard Soubry. Migration of the content to the new Springshare platforom was undertaken by Renée Belliveau.

 

EXHIBITION DATES

The original J.E.A. Crake virtual exhibition was hosted on the Mount Allison University website from June 2014 to June 2021. It will be supported on the Mount Allison University Libraries & Archives Springshare platform from 2021 onward.