Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

J.E.A. Crake: Photographs

A virtual exhibition that pays tribute to a distinguished professor of Classics at Mount Allison University.

Photographs


The Crake family like many families in the 1920s and 1930s were bitten by the shutterbug. You can well imagine J.E.A. Crake using a simple brownie camera to capture many of the images displayed on this page. Unfortunately, very few of the photographs are specifically identified.

We are offered some clues though. Many of the summer images appear to be taken at or near Mary Lake in the Muskoka region of Ontario. This is a very popular escape from Toronto where the family is believed to have lived at 84 Lowther Avenue.

There are also images of the aero car over the Niagara River whirlpool and fellow students at Trinity College at the University of Toronto. The family was capturing the special moments and everyday life like so many other photography enthusiasts. So enjoy this little glimpse into lives of the Crake family.

View select photographs from the Crake family album in the gallery below.

Unidentified man [John Housley Crake?] with cane in front of archway

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Unidentified woman [Edith Alice Crake?] in left-profile

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Unidentified boy [J.E.A. Crake] sitting on tree

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Unidentified man [John Housley Crake?] and young boy [J.E.A. Crake?] with geese in background

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 5. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

J.E.A. Crake in canoe on lake. Note on verso: “J.E.A. C. off wharf Clyffe House”

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 6. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

J.E.A. Crake and his aunt. Note on verso: “Aunt Norah and J.E.A. C., Gibson’s Falls, Mary Lake”.

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 10. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

J.E.A. canoeing with his aunt. Note on verso: “Aunt Norah and J.E.A. Crake off boathouse, Clyffe House”.

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 11. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

J.E.A. Crake and his aunt in front of forest. Note on verso: “Aunt Norah and J.E.A. C., Strawberry Is[land], Mary Lake”

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 11. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Three unidentified individuals picnicking

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 13. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Unidentified boy [J.E.A. Crake?] in canoe

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 16. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Four unidentified individuals with small dog

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 18. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Unidentified young woman and man [J.E.A. Crake?] on wharf holding line of fish

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 20. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Two unidentified individuals fishing in canoe

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 21. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Three unidentified individuals in rain ponchos

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 23. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Niagara Falls, Canada

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 24. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Whirlpool aero cars [near Niagara Falls, Canada]

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 24. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Group of unidentified schoolboys on roof of archway of an academic building [Trinity College – University of Toronto?]

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 25. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Group of unidentified schoolboys on steps to academic building

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 25. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Group of unidentified schoolboys on steps, with academic building in background [Trinity College – University of Toronto?]

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 26. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Group of unidentified schoolboys beside tree, outside of an academic building

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/1 p. 26. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

J.E.A. Crake, [193-?]

Mount Allison University Archives. J.E.A. Crake fonds, 7803/7/3. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.