Industry Statistics
- Canadian Industry Statistics, Industry Canada
- Has overview analysis of Canadian industry trends on establishments, GDP, international trade, etc. using the latest annual Statistics Canada data. Also here: NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) finder and glossary of terms.
- Financial Performance Data (formerly Performance Plus, and SME Benchmarking Tool)
- Provides industry averages for income statement and balance sheet items, for small and medium-sized businesses by business sector, for Canada, the provinces and territories. Performance measures include all business expenses (including advertising and promotion), employment data, some balance sheet and financial ratios, and profitable/non-profitable businesses (over 30 performance benchmarks).
Years available: 1993 on. Updated every two years.
- Information by Industrial Sector, Industry Canada
- Wide range of information on various manufacturing and service industries, consumer products and technologies collected in one place by Industry Canada. Details can include market and company information, legislation, regulations and standards, industry profile, analysis and statistics, business and support services, government programs and services, list of industrial associations, etc.
- Canadian Importers Database, Industry Canada
- Provides a list of major importers by product/commodity, city, and by country of origin. Based on the latest year's Canada Customs and Revenue Agency data, the list includes the names, city and postal codes of the top 80% import companies in the specified sector and the value of imports in that sector.
- Associations Canada Online In: Canada's Information Resource Centre database.
- The most comprehensive listing of associations in Canada, providing contact information, URL, brief profile, list of publications. Industry associations can be an excellent source of industry statistics and other information.
- Statistics Canada Data (formerly CANSIM)
- Statistics Canada's largest database of economic, demographic, and social statistics containing over one million time series of data on topics including trade, industry, manufacturing, business conditions, etc.
Coverage: Historical and current (dates vary). Searchable by keyword and browsable by subject. A concordance between CANSIM table numbers and Statistics Canada's new data ID numbers is available here.
- Industry Classifications
- This Statistics Canada page links to the latest and previous versions of the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and other codes used for industry data. Includes full hierarchies and definitions.
- Concordances Between Classifications
- This Statistics Canada page shows the differences between various versions of industry codes.
Economic Statistics & Trends
- Statistics Canada:The Daily
- Provides latest daily statistics and analysis released by Statistics Canada covering demographic, social and economic topics. Feature articles include excerpts from publications as they are released. Searchable archive of past issues.
- TD Bank Economic Reports
- The Toronto Dominion Bank provides current and archived issues of their weekly and quarterly economic reports, commentary on economic issues, federal and provincial government finances, quarterly economic forecast, commodity price report, and automotive report.
- Statistics Canada Data (formerly CANSIM)- Statistics Canada's largest database of economic, demographic, and social statistics containing over one million time series of data on topics including trade, industry, manufacturing, business conditions, etc.
Coverage: Historical and current (dates vary). Searchable by keyword and browsable by subject. A concordance between CANSIM table numbers and Statistics Canada's new data ID numbers is available here.
Government Regulations
- Information by Industrial Category
- From this Industry Canada page, select an industry, then "Regulations and Standards" for links to Canadian regulatory information for that industry.
- Advertising and Marketing Law in Canada KE 1610 .P75 6th. ed. 2019 Stacks
- Sponsored by the Association of Canadian Advertisers. Explains relevant legal issues and regulatory codes for all provinces and federally regulated sectors.
Country or Area Studies
