Directories (These provide brief information only - use to identify companies in a field or associated with a particular product.)
- Directories covering Canadian companies and others, are available in Nexis Uni -- Select "Companies" -- "Company Profiles" -- "International Company Reports" (for Canadian and other non-U.S. companies), or search all directories together.
- Globeinvestor.com Company Snapshots
- Company Snapshots for most public companies in North America include financials for the last 4 years, contact information, link to company web site and annual report, and a list of the top companies in the same field.
- Canadian Company Capabilities, Industry Canada
- A database of over 50,000 Canadian companies and 200,000 products and services, with a brief company profile, contact information, and a link to the company web site. Search by product, location, NAICS code or company name.
- Fraser's Canadian Trade Directory (In Library: HF 3228 .F8 Reference)
- A multi-volume directory of industrial products manufactured in Canada. Search by name, product or trade name. Online version: https://www.frasersdirectory.com
- Canadian Importers Database, Industry Canada.
- Lists the largest companies importing goods into Canada by product, city, and country of origin.
- Canadian Trade Index
- A directory of over 30,000 Canadian manufacturers, distributors and industrial service companies, and over 50,000 products. Search by keyword in company name, product description, or trademark. Provides contact information, link to company web site, product descriptions, areas exported to, and online ads and catalogues if available.
- ThomasNet.com
- Lists over 155,000 U.S. and Canadian companies and their industrial products and services. Links to supplier catalogues where available. Search can be limited by province.
- Associations Canada
- The most comprehensive listing of non-profit, voluntary organizations in Canada. It provides contact information, URL, brief profile, list of publications.
- Directories of New Brunswick Exporters Export & Trade, New Brunswick Economic Development
- Specialized directories cover food and seafood products, bio-sciences industry, building products and services, aerospace and defence industries, and information and communications technology companies.
- Canpages Businesses and YellowPages.ca
- searchable by type of business to locate local companies.
- Canada's Business Registries (Includes federal, and some provincial registries that can be searched together.) Use to find out if, and where, a business is registered to operate; some have links to more information.
Rankings and Market Share
- Globe & Mail's Report on Business Magazine Top 1000 Companies
- Ranking by profits, and shareholder information on Canadian companies.
- Canadian Business Investor 500 (Find by searching ProQuest or NexisUni.)
- Annual special report by Canadian Business Magazine ranks the 500 largest publicly traded companies in Canada.
- Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies
- This awards program rates Canadian owned and managed companies based on not only financials, but also their strategy, capability and commitment. Sponsored and judged by Deloitte, CIBC, National Post and Queen's School of Business, the site lists the winners from 1993 on, with a link to their web sites, and some details on the best practices they share.
- Profit 200
- By Profit Magazine, Profit 200 ranks Canada's fastest growing companies.
- Financial Post FP500 (National Post)
- Ranks by revenue the top 500 public and crown corporations.
- Fortune 500 and Fortune 1000 Companies (U.S.)
- Information on the top 500-1000 U.S. companies by name, industry or CEO. Data include up-to-date stock performance, articles and brief company profile.
- Fortune Global 500
- Same as above but for the top 500 companies in the world.
- Market Share Reporter
- Annual compilation of market share data reported on companies, products and services (mostly U.S. data but some Canadian as well).
Financial Information
- Canadian Charities. (Canada Revenue Agency List of Charities, with financial information, including the public portions of a charity's annual information return.
- Hoover's, Standard & Poor's, Worldscope International, etc.
- These and other databases within NexisUni provide detailed financials and company information for several years, all searchable together, by company. Select NexisUni from A-Z List of Databases on the library homepage. Click on "Companies" -- "Company Profiles". Select "International Company Reports" for non-U.S. companies, or search all directories together.
- SEDAR+ Home Page
- This is a database of information filed with the securities commissions by Canadian public companies and investment funds from 1997 on. It includes company profiles, annual reports, press releases, financial statements and more.
- EDGAR Database
- U.S. equivalent of SEDAR; includes filings of Canadian companies listed on U.S. stock exchanges. Alternative access provided through LexisNexis -- select Business -- SEC Filings.
- Canadian Corporate Annual Reports Collection (In library: CA7 ... Government Documents, Basement)
- For historic research. Includes reports from the 1970's to the present for Canada's largest publicly held companies. Search the online library catalogue by company name as "author".
- Canadian Corporate Reports, McGill Digital Archive. Selected years of Canadian companies' historical annual reports are available in this digital collection from McGill University. (See SEDAR for annual reports from 1997 on.)
- Globeinvestor.com Company Snapshots
- Company Snapshots for most public companies in North America include financials for the last 3 years, contact information, link to company web site and annual report, and a list of the top companies in the same field.
- Annual Report Gallery
- A large collection of company annual reports from around the world.
- SEDI (System for Electronic Disclosure by Insiders)
- Canada's online database for filing and viewing insider trading reports required by provincial securities authorities. Shows the trading activities of directors, senior officers or significant shareholders of reporting issuers.
Company Histories and General Information
- Hoover's, Worldscope International, etc.
- These and other databases within LexisNexis provide detailed financials and company information for several years, all searchable together, by company. Select NexisUni from A-Z List of Databases. Click on "Companies" -- "Company Profiles". Select "International Company Reports" for non-U.S. companies. For company press releases, newswires and other business news, click on the "News" tab.
- Canada Newswire
- Contains the full text of company press releases for the last 2-3 years. An excellent source of timely corporate news and one of the few sources of information about private companies. Searchable by stock symbol, industry, organization name, subject, keyword, and date.
- Canadian Company Histories, Gale Canada. (In library: HD 2809 C35 Reference)
- Historical research. Provides fairly detailed profiles of Canada's largest and most influential companies.
- FP Survey, Predecessor & Defunct, Financial Post. (In library: HG 4090 .Z5 F592 Reference)
- Lists name changes, amalgamations, acquisitions and dissolved or wound up Canadian public corporations since 1929.
- Hoover's Online
- For public companies traded on the U.S. stock exchanges, Hoover provides a very brief company profile, financials, and links to company websites. Hoover's U.K. includes British and European companies.
NOTE: More detailed Hoover's reports are available on Nexis Uni.
- Canadian Corporate Annual Reports Collection (In library: CA7 ... Government Documents, Basement)
- Includes reports from the 1970's to the present for a selection of Canada's largest publicly held companies. Search the online library catalogue by company name as "author". Besides financial information, annual reports usually give a broad overview of the company, its operations, plans for future development and evaluation of past performance. (Company websites should have their most recent annual report, but may not archive earlier ones.)
- CorpWatch
- Activist site tracking and publicizing corporate activity that endangers human rights, social and environmental justice. Search by keyword: "Canada" for Canadian stories, or by company name.
- Library Online Catalogue (Novanet)
- Use the library online catalogue to search for company histories published as books. Search for the company name as the subject. Searching by keyword may find other books, including government documents, on the company.
