Interlibrary Loans: Other Libraries: Borrow from MTA

MtA ILL Service provides copies of eligible materials from our collections to Canadian and international libraries. Loans are available to Canadian libraries; international loans are on a case by case basis.

How to place requests

• Generic Script address: nbsamgsm@relais-host.com
• ISO-compliant systems: nbsamiso@relais-host.com (Please test prior to requesting)
• Using our request webform   
  • Email nbsam@mta.ca for your library username & password
  • Select NBSAM from the drop down menu on the form 
• Email request details to nbsam@mta.ca

What we supply

Copies: ILL copies must follow Canadian Copyright Fair Dealing guidelines

Loans: General Collection, Basement Reference Collection, most items in Mary Mellish Archibald Memorial Library of Folklore

Loans at the discretion of the library:

• DVDs, CDs, and other audiovisual materials
• Items in the Mary Mellish Archibald Memorial Library of Folklore 
• Microfilm and microfiche
• Items with the status of ‘Display’

Not for loan (Note: copies from these items may be possible):

• Edgar and Dorothy Davidson Collection of Canadiana
• Winthrop Pickard Bell Collection
• Bell Acadiana Collection 
• Rare books
• Archives 
• Journals 
• Reserves & Reference ('Basement Reference' Collection does ILL)

ILL fees

CAUL-CBUA, BCI, OCUL, COPPUL, CARL, and reciprocal partners: no charge for copies and loans.

Other libraries fee structure  

Billing and payment information

Invoicing is done semi-annually in January and July except international loans which are invoiced at supply. Payment can be made by cheque or credit card. IFLA vouchers are also accepted

Loan periods 

CAUL-CBUA, BCI, OCUL, COPPUL, CARL: 6 weeks from date of receipt
Other libraries: 3 weeks from date of receipt