Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Interlibrary Loans: Getting Started

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery at MTA Libraries

Need Something MtA Libraries Doesn't Have?

  Place an Interlibrary Loan request    Request an 
    Interlibrary Loan
 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL):

ILL is a free service that will facilitate getting another library to supply a copy or the loan of items not available at MtA Libraries 

 Novanet Express:

  • Technically an interlibrary loan, but on resources held by Novanet partner libraries

Finding Resources

ILL requests can be placed for items found many places, such as searching other library catalogues or Google Scholar, or by getting citations from other published resources references, works cited, or a bibliographies.

Compare NE, ILL, and Reciprocal Borrowing at a glance 

Other Library Catalogues

Multi-Library Worldwide Catalogue

Search a database of the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries worldwide:

  • Worldcat ► simplified single search box with an advanced search option.
  • MtA Worldcat Discovery ► search MtA resources or expand to libraries worldwide. MtA doesn't have it? Place an interlibrary loan request using the link under 'Access Options'   
  • FirstSearch ► MtA login required, offers advanced or more precise searching of Worldcat

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

MtA users have access to CRL's wealth of newspapers, journals, dissertations, and digital resources, as well as primary sources and other research materials.

Atlantic Canada

Canada

  • RACER: Ontario universities’ tool for searching collections of research libraries’ catalogues simultaneously
  • Voilà: Canada’s National Union Catalogue (holdings at Library and Archives Canada and libraries across Canada
  • Aurora: Library and Archives Canada’s catalogue
  • Federal Science Library
  • NEOS: Shared catalogue for the central Alberta library consortium

International

  • Worldcat -> Simplified search of a database of the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries worldwide (advanced search option)
  • MtA Worldcat -> search MtA resources or expand to libraries worldwide. MtA doesn't have it? Place an interlibrary loan request using the link under 'Access Options'   
  • FirstSearch -> MtA login required, offers advanced or more precise searching of Worldcat
  • Library of Congress
  • The European Library

Theses & Dissertations (Some Open Access)

Digital (Some Open Access)

Contact ILL:   

Libraries looking to borrow from us? Borrowing from MtA 

Library Login Info

Library Databases:

  • Use your MtA username & password (same as Connect and your email)

Library Account & Novanet

  • Use your MtA email address & same password as for Connect and your email

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

  • Login = MtA ID #
  • Password = 4 digit PIN

Don't know your ID or PIN? Have questions? Email nbsam@mta.ca