Mount A Libraries: All the World's a Stage: The Choral Society (1932-1960)

The Choral Society (1932-1960)

The organization of the Mount Allison Choral Society began two decades of musical theatre on campus. Under the conductorship of Professor Harold Hamer, many Gilbert and Sullivan productions were performed starting in 1932. Favourites such as "H.M.S. Pinafore," "The Mikado," the "Pirates of Penzance," and "Iolanthe" enriched the theatrical life of the town and were well-received on campus. The final production of "Patience" (1935) was broadcast by the CBC to the rest of Canada after the director of the Halifax broadcasting station wrote to the chairman of the Canadian Radio Commission (later CBC) to say:

"We broadcast one act of 'The Pirates of Penzance' and I never heard anything, by any amateur group, to compare with. They evidently have at Mount Allison talent available, the equal of which is not to be found . . . anywhere in the Maritimes. It was a marvelous broadcast." [1]

A man and a woman stand at centre stage looking at each other. There is a person laying on the ground at their feet in despair. They are surrounded by a cast of more than 80 actors. Most of the men wear pirate costumes while the women wear white day dresses. A few men are wearing military uniforms. One is holding a Union Jack while another holds a black flag with a white skull.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan’s “Pirates of Penzance” in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, 1934

Mount Allison University Archives. Harold Hamer fonds, 8722/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Approximately 90 cast members sitting or standing on stage in costume. The men wear military uniforms while the women wear gowns. The stage is decorated with a large mural of trees.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan’s “Patience” performed in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, 1935

Mount Allison University Archives. William Hewson fonds, 2017.76/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Three women and six men stand in centre stage surrounded by a cast of nearly 85 actors in elaborate costumes. The men wear white sailor's uniforms while the women wear frilly day dresses.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan’s “H.M.S. Pinafore” performed in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, [1936]

Mount Allison University Archives. William Hewson fonds, 2017.76/2. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Approximately 100 cast members standing on stage in costumes. The women are dressed as fairies while the men appear to be dressed either as royalty or clergy. The Mount Allison Orchestra sits with their instruments at the foot of the stage. Professor Hamer stands in the middle to direct them.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan’s “Iolanthe” performed in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, 1939

Mount Allison University Archives. Mona Coates fonds, 2014.02/3/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Approximately 100 cast members standing in rows on stage. They are all wearing elaborate costumes resembling traditional Japanese wear.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan’s "Mikado" performed in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, 1940

Mount Allison University Archives. Mona Coates fonds, 2014.02/3/2. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Approximately 100 cast members standing in rows on stage. They are wearing a variety of costumes, some resembling traditional Ductch wear and royal attire.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan operetta “The Gondoliers” performed in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, April-May 1942

Mount Allison University Archives. MacLeod-Brison family fonds, 2015.39/5/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Professor Harold S. Hamer, 1933

Mount Allison University Archives. Gwendolyn Black fonds, 7432/2. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Approximately 50 cast members standing on stage costumes. Most of them are are wearing garments that resemble traditional Dutch wear. The stage is decorated with a mural of portraits of various characters in costumes.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan's "Ruddigore" performed in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, 20 March 1954

Directed and conducted by Geoffrey Payzant.

Mount Allison University Archives. Geoffrey Payzant fonds, 9209/3. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Approximately 50 cast members on stage in costumes resembling traditional Dutch wear. The stage is decorated with painted trees, ships on the ocean, and a house with a straw roof. Members of the Mount Allison Orchestra are partially visible at the foot of the stage.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan's "Ruddigore" performed in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, 20 March 1954

Directed and conducted by Geoffrey Payzant.

Mount Allison University Archives. Geoffrey Payzant fonds, 9209/6. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Sixteen men standing on stage in a semi-circle with two of them in centre stage. They all wear elaborate costumes resembling magistrates, clergy, and officers.

Cast of the Choral Society production of Gilbert and Sullivan's "Ruddigore" performed in Charles Fawcett Memorial Hall, 20 March 1954

Directed and conducted by Geoffrey Payzant.

Mount Allison University Archives. Geoffrey Payzant fonds, 9209/10. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

What made the Choral Society unique was that it was open to members of all three Mount Allison institutions (the University, the Academy, and the Ladies' College). Faculty and staff also frequently partook in its theatrical productions alongside students. The costumes and set designs were elaborate and rehearsals took place over a period of six months or more.

In 1937, the Choral Society began shifting its focus from operas to concerts. They revived the Gilbert and Sullivan productions in 1939, but found the increased demands of wartime activities on campus interfered with the large productions. After their initial success, operas were only staged intermittently in the 1940s and 1950s.

When renowned composer, arranger, and conductor of church music Dr. Alfred Whitehead was appointed dean of music in 1948, The Choral Society changed. For five years under his direction 125 singers performed sacred music at bi-monthly vespers and special events, and an annual major oratorio. Particularly notable was the presentation of Mendelssohn’s “Elijah” in 1952 which attracted high praise from knowledgeable music lovers.

The Choral Society continued with concerts emphasizing classical music. In 1961 the establishment of the Garnet and Gold Society revived musical theatre on campus, including "H.M.S. Pinafore" (1982) and "The Mikado" (1983).

Productions

For a chronological list of Gilbert & Sullivan productions, please consult the following sources:

List of Gilbert and Sullivan operas (1939-1958)

Notes

[1] As quoted in "Patience" by Professor Harold Hamer. 1935 Allisonian yearbook, p. 83.