Skip to Main Content
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

All the World's a Stage: Garnet & Gold (1961-present)

A virtual exhibition celebrating the history of Drama at Mount Allison University.

Garnet and Gold (1961-present)

The Garnet and Gold Society was officially formed in the fall of 1961 after an initial production in the winter of 1960. Its original purpose was to produce musical theatre on the campus, with books, lyrics, and music being the original work of students. This purpose gradually changed, with the focus moving to the production of musical theatre. After a few initial productions in the early 1960s, interest appeared to wane and the society became inactive. It was reinvigorated in 1979 and continues to the present. It is run by students and typically involves members from the Mount Allison and Sackville communities on stage and behind the scenes.

The organization builds on a tradition that dates back to 1932 when the Mount Allison Choral Society mounted its first full-scale production of Gilbert and Sullivan's HMS Pinafore under the direction of Harold Hamer.

Black and white geometric pattern with handwritten text and a red title for

Cover of sound recording for Wait 'N See, the original Garnet and Gold production, 1960

Mount Allison University Archives. Garnet and Gold Society fonds, 7712/2. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Eight cast members acting on stage. Two couples are dancing, one couple is sitting, and there is a man in a graduation robe and one with a sweater that says

 Image of the cast on the stage in the Garnet and Gold dramatic production of Wait 'n See, 1961

Mount Allison University Archives. Picture collection, 2007.07/2365. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Blue programme with black text and a drawing of a waitress holding a tray of drinks.

Programme from the Garnet and Gold production of Wait ‘N See, 1961

Mount Allison University Archives. Don Skeffington fonds, 9554/1. May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Productions

For a partial list of productions, please consult the following source:

Playbills

Below you will find a gallery of playbills from productions by the Garnet & Gold Society. Use the arrows on each side of the image to navigate the collection.

Playbill for the 1979 production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the 1991 production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the 1993 production of
Playbill for the 1994 production of
Playbill for the 1995 production of
Playbill for the 1996 production of
Playbill for the 1997 production of
Playbill for the 1998 production of
Playbill for the 1999 production of
Playbill for the 2000 production of
Playbill for the 2001 production of
Playbill for the 2002 production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the production of
Playbill for the 2009 production of

You can find additional information about Garnet and Gold, as well as more photographs, on our Descriptions Database.


Find Information | Research Help | Services & Facilities | About the Libraries | Contact Us


Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives
49 York Street, Sackville NB, E4L 1C6 Canada
Hours | About the Libraries | Contact Us

Music Library | University Archives | Mount Allison University