Mount Allison University Archives
Third floor, Ralph Pickard Bell Library
49 York Street Sackville, New Brunswick E4L 1C6
Telephone: 506-364-2563
Fax: 506-364-2617
E-mail: archives@mta.ca
Hours: The Mount Allison University Archives are open BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. To make an appointment, either e-mail archives@mta.ca or telephone the Archives (506-364-2563) and leave a voice message. Staff will then contact you to arrange for an appointment.
You can search descriptions of the Archives' holdings and photographs from the Picture Collection and related fonds / collections by using our Descriptions Database.
Archival work on records relating to dramatic performance and the Drama Program at Mount Allison and the production of this virtual exhibition was funded by the Crake Foundation, Barbara McNutt, and Sarah D. Neal. The Mount Allison University Archives is extremely grateful for their generous support.
Barbara McNutt's contribution to this project was made in memory of Peter Flemington (1936-2020). As a tribute, she writes:
"The connections between my family and the Flemingtons are long and complex, starting when my mother Hilda Simms McNutt and Peter’s Uncle Ross Flemington were fellow students one hundred years ago.
During Peter Flemington's undergraduate years, he was very involved in the Mount Allison Players both on the executive and in lead roles as a performer. His professional career was in film and video as director, producer, and in executive positions, culminating as co-founder of VisionTV in charge of programming. It seems appropriate to remember him in a history of drama at Mount Allison."
Sarah D. Neal’s contribution to this project was made in memory of three generations of Neal family Allisonians:
Processing of archival records was completed by student Emma Biberdorf under the guidance of University Archivist David Mawhinney. The creation and design of this virtual exhibition was carried out by archival intern Renée Belliveau. Some of the content draws on earlier research conducted by Cheryl Ennals.
In keeping with the mission of the Mount Allison University Archives to acquire, preserve and make available the records in its holdings, the preparation of this virtual exhibition is intended to provide increased access to original documents. However, viewers are reminded that the images of documents used in this exhibition are provided for the purposes of research, private study, general interest and reference only.
Access to the photographs and images of these documents and the technical capacity to download them does not imply permission for re-use. Any use other than those cited above, including publication or re-distribution in any form, electronic and publishing/broadcasting on the Web, or use in an exhibition or display, requires written permission from the Mount Allison University Archives.
Materials made available in this online exhibition may also be subject to additional restrictions including, but not limited to, the rights of copyright and privacy. Users should be aware of their responsibility for determining the existence of such rights and acquiring all necessary permissions.
For information on this virtual exhibition and the archival documents featured in it please contact:
David Mawhinney, University Archivist
Mount Allison University Archives
Ralph Pickard Bell Library
49 York Street
Sackville New Brunswick
E4L 1C6
Canada
Telephone : (506) 364-2563
Fax : (506) 364-2617
Email: dmawhinney@mta.ca
DIGITIZATION PROCESS
The majority of the images on this virtual exhibit were digitized using an Epson Perfection 3200 Photo scanner at 300 DPI, 24-bit colour resolution, uncompressed TIFF file format. No touch-ups were done, and every effort was made to reproduce as closely as possible the original image. Some alterations may have been done using the open-source image editing software, IrfanView, version 3.95.
Digitization of photographs included in this exhibition was completed by Emma Biderdorf and David Mawhinney.
WEBSITE CREATION
This virtual exhibition is hosted on the Mount Allison University Library's Springshare platform (LibGuides). Design and creation of the exhibition was carried out by Renée Belliveau.
The banner was created by Renée Belliveau from archival images using Photo Editor Movavi 5.6 and the graphic design platform Canva. Photographs include (left to right):
EXHIBITION DATES
All the World's a Stage: A History of Drama at Mount Allison University will be supported online through the Mount Allison Libraries and Archives Springshare platform from 2021 onward.