Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

Pages through the Ages: A History of Mount Allison's Libraries & Archives: Information

A virtual exhibit of Mount Allison's early libraries and the faculty members who established and supported them.

Acknowledgements


Pages Through the Ages original project team (2010):

Matching funds for 2009 summer student provided by:
Heritage Canada through the Young Canada Works program

  • Rhianna Edwards : University Archivist and Project Coordinator
  • Jamie Smith: Summer research student, 2009
  • Elizabeth Millar : Public Services and Special Collections Librarian
  • Peter Higham : Music Librarian
  • Anne MacLeod : Head, Access Services and Interlibrary Loans
  • Jeff Lilburn: Public Services Librarian and Web Editor
  • Brian McNally: Systems Librarian
  • Ruthmary Macpherson: Technical Services
  • Sam Thibodeau and Jill Arsenault: Office of the University Webmaster (website design and construction)
  • The following institutions provided information and images:
    • Esther Clark Wright Archives, Acadia University
    • Dalhousie University Archives
    • Wesleyan University Archives

 

Migration of content to LibGuide (2019):

  • Renée Belliveau: Young Canada Works Archival Intern (2018-2019)
  • The following people provided help and updated information:
    • Laura Landon: Head, Access Services & ILL; Public Services Librarian
    • David Mawhinney: University Archivist

 

Mount Allison University would like to acknowledge, honour, and pay respect to the traditional owners and custodians (from all four directions), of the land on which we meet. It is upon ancestral lands of the Mi’kmaw and Wolastoquyik (Maliseet) peoples that Mount Allison University is built.

Contact information


You can contact us by phone or by email, or drop by the Library and Archives to chat with us in person.

Mount Allison University Archives
Third floor, Ralph Pickard Bell Library  
49 York Street 
Sackville, New Brunswick 
E4L 1C6 
tel: 506-364-2563 | email: archives@mta.ca
University Archivist: David Mawhinney
The Mount Allison University Archives are open by appointment only.

 

Ralph Pickard Bell Library  
49 York Street 
Sackville, New Brunswick 
E4L 1C6 
tel: 506-364-2564 | email: infodesk@mta.ca

 

Alfred Whitehead Music Library
Marjorie Young Bell Conservatory of Music
134 Main Street
Sackville, New Brunswick
E4L 1A6
tel: 506-364-2561 | email: musiclibrary@mta.ca

Copyright


In keeping with the mission of the Mount Allison University Archives to acquire, preserve and make available the records in its holdings, the preparation of this virtual exhibition, Pages Through the Ages: A History of Mount Allison's Libraries and Archives, is intended to provide increased access to original documents. However, viewers are reminded that the photographs and images of documents used in this exhibition are provided for the purposes of research, private study, general interest and reference only.

Access to the photographs and images of these documents and the technical capacity to download them does not imply permission for re-use. You may download images and information for use as cited above (i.e. research, private study, general interest and reference); however, publication or re-distribution in any form, electronic and publishing/broadcasting on the Web, or use in an exhibition or display, requires written permission from the Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives.

Materials made available in this online exhibition may also be subject to additional restrictions including, but not limited to, the rights of copyright and privacy. Users should be aware of their responsibility for determining the existence of such rights and acquiring all necessary permissions. For information on this virtual exhibition and the archival documents featured in it, please contact us!

Technical information


Digitization Process

The images on this virtual exhibit were digitized using an Epson Perfection 3200 Photo scanner at 300 DPI, 24-bit colour resolution, uncompressed TIFF file format. No touch-ups were done, and every effort was made to reproduce as closely as possible the original image.

Web Design (2010)

Web design of this virtual exhibit, Pages Through the Ages: A History of Mount Allison's Libraries and Archives, was carried out by Rhianna Edwards, Univesity Archivist, Mount Allison University Archives, and was coded directly using HTML and CSS. Much valuable assistance was given by Jill Arsenault and Sam Thibodeau of Mount Allison's Office of the Webmaster.

Migration (2019)

The migration of the original website to a LibGuide was carried out by Renée Belliveau, Young Canada Works Archival Intern (2018-2019), with help from Laura Landon, Head of Access Services & ILL and Public Services Librarian.