Mount A Libraries: Religious Studies Subject Guide: Religion &amp; Environment

Web Resources

Environmentalism as Religion
An essay written by Joel Garreau and published on The New Atlantis website.
Harvard University Center for the Environment
"The Harvard University Center for the Environment (HUCE) encourages research and education about the environment and its many interactions with human society.
The Center draws its strength from faculty members and students across the University who make up a remarkable intellectual community of scholars, researchers, and teachers of diverse fields including chemistry, earth and planetary sciences, engineering and applied sciences, history, biology, public health and medicine, government, business, economics, religion, literature and the law."
ISEE -- International Society for Environmental Ethics
This official site of the ISEE provides original articles, a blog, book reviews, presentations, information about events, and links to other related resources.
Relgious Environmentalism
A website created by the Interfaith Center for Sustainable Development
The Role of Religious Environmentalism
A podcast from the Council on Foreign Relations' Religion and Foreign Policy Initiative. The video and transcript are available on this page.

New & Notable Books

Ecology and Religion by Mary Evelyn Tucker; John Grim
Call Number: BL 65 .E36 G75 2014
Publication Date: 2014
This primer explores the history of religious traditions and the environment, illustrating how religious teachings and practices both promoted and at times subverted sustainability.
Ecology and Theology in the Ancient World by Ailsa Hunt (Editor); Hilary F. Marlow (Editor)
Call Number: BL 65 .E36 E365 2019
Publication Date: 2019
This multi-disciplinary volume brings together the voices of biblical scholars, classicists, philosophers, theologians and political theorists to explore how ecology and theology intersected in ancient thinking, both pagan, Jewish and Christian.
Green Buddhism by Stephanie Kaza
Call Number: BQ 4570 .E23 K395 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Millions of Westerners are now practicing Buddhism and mindfulness--what perspectives, teachings, and practices can Buddhist traditions contribute to the green conversation?
Greenspirit by Marian Van Eyk Mccain
ISBN: 9781780991863
Publication Date: 2010-04-30
The definitive book on 21st Century 'green spirituality' and its key role in creating a peaceful, just and sustainable world.
Hinduism and Environmental Ethics by Christopher G. Framarin
Call Number: BL 1215 .N34 F73 2014
Publication Date: 2014
This book argues that the standard arguments for and against the claim that certain Hindu texts and traditions attribute direct moral standing to animals and plants are unconvincing.
Inherited Land: The Changing Grounds of Religion and Ecology by Whitney A. Bauman (Editor)
Call Number: GF 80 .I54 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Theologians, ethicists, sociologists, and other scholars are engaged in a broad dialogue about the ways religious studies can help understand and address environmental problems, including the sorts of methodological, terminological, and substantive debates that characterize any academic discourse.
When God Isn't Green by Jay Wexler
Call Number: GF 80 .W49 2016
Publication Date: 2016
In this lively, round-the-world trip, law professor and humorist Jay Wexler explores the intersection of religion and the environment.

Reference Materials

Climate Change: An Encyclopedia by Brian C. Black (General Editor)
Call Number: QC 903 .C48 2013 REF
The articles in "Climate Change: An Encyclopedia of Science and History" are designed to inform readers' decision making through the insight of scholars from around the world, each of whom brings a unique approach to this topic.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by Paul Robbins (Editor)
Call Number: HM 856 .E53 2007 REF
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiple issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by Craig W. Allin (Editor)
Call Number: GE 10 .E52 2011 REF
Newly revised edition, covering wide range of topics related to environmental issues -- such as endangered animal species, air pollution, smog, and urban planning.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature by Bron Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: BL 31 .E465 2005 REF
The Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature covers a vast and interdisciplinary range of material, from thinkers to religious traditions and beyond.

"Environmental Ethics," Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A detailed article entry from the openly accessible Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosopy

Green Ethics and Philosophy by Julie Newman (Editor)
Call Number: GE 42 .G735 2011 REF
Available in our print reference collection and online, this eighth volume in the SAGE Series on Green Society covers the moral relationship between humans and their natural environment, specifically targeting the contemporary green movement.
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Ecology by Roger S. Gottlieb (Editor)
Call Number: BL 65 .E36 O94 2010 REF
Religious leaders and institutions have committed themselves to a new green gospel, and in countless places across the globe people engage in environmental activism for religious reasons. This book serves as the definitive scholarly overview of these exciting new developments.

Journals and Articles

Environmental Ethics
An interdisciplinary journal combining nonprofessional and professional interests in environmental philosophy. Searchable through Environment Complete database.
Environmental Values
"Concerned with the rational basis and justification of environmental policy." (EBSCO); searchable in Environment Complete database.
Journal for the Study of Religion, Nature & Culture
2007-present (3-month embargo). Previous title: Ecotheology: Journal of Religion, Nature & the Environment (1997-2006). Search in ATLA or Environment Complete database.
Journal of Buddhist Ethics
The Journal of Buddhist Ethics is the first academic journal dedicated entirely to Buddhist ethics. Open access, peer-reviewed journal.
Journal of Religious Ethics
1999-present in Wiley online; for older issues (1973-2009) see JSTOR; most issues searchable in ATLA.
"Religion and Environment," Annual Review of Environment and Resources
An article published in November 2011 focused on the topic of religion and the environment.
Religion and Views on Climate and Energy Issues
An article published by the Pew Research Center in 2015.
Worldviews: Global Religions, Culture & Ecology
Searchable in Environment Complete database; 12-month delay for full-text access.

Databases

Several of the journals listed above are included (with full text) in the database Environment Complete. Click the link below:

ATLA Religion (American Theological Library Association) with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Coverage: 1949 to present.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
Environmental Science Database (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Indigenous Collection This link opens in a new window
With a broad range of international Indigenous research resources brought together, the Informit Indigenous Collection offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies. Readily available, the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law and land rights, literature, politics and policymaking, (post)colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual and performing arts.
Religion Database (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles with a focus on international religion and spirituality.
Coverage from 1986 to the present.