Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Commonly Used Citation Styles
Guides are available for the following citation styles:
Other Style Guides:
Certain departments and disciplines use their own style guide. Guides for these additional citation styles, along with guides covering particular kinds of materials, such as maps and geospatial data, are available on the Other Style Guides page.
Citing Government Information:
For guides covering government publications, please see the Citing Government Information page.
The following guides provide information and guidelines for creating annotated bibliographies. Most also include sample annotated bibliography entries in a variety of styles.
A Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) guide.
Provides an overview of annotated bibliographies as well as sample annotations in APA, Chicago and MLA styles.
How to Write an Annotated Bibliography
A Simon Fraser University Library guide.
Includes examples of annotated bibliographies in APA and MLA style.
How to Write Annotated Bibliographies
A Memorial University Libraries guide.
A brief guides that includes samples of informative/descriptive annotations and critical annotations.
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
A Saint Mary's University Library guide.
Discusses the purpose of an annotated bibliography, audience and length, and provides examples of descriptive and critical annotations.
Citation Management: Zotero
Zotero is a free citation management tool. See the Zotero Guide for installation and usage instructions.
Questions? Ask your Subject Librarian!